cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VDSL routers for FTTC?

toolateforaname
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 22-04-2014

VDSL routers for FTTC?

Could I ask for peoples experiences with VDSL routers to replace *both* BT boxes?
Searching around gives me conflicting info about which devices work without the BT modem and given that these are not cheap...
It would be nice to have a list of devices together with info about firmware versions and config settings to get them working with plusnet FTTC.
I understand that there are :
Draytek 2760n 2860
Fritzbox 7390  7490
Asus  DSL-N66U
Asus DSL-AC68U  
Cisco 887VA ISR
HH3
HH5
Billion 8200
Technicolor  TG589
TechnicolorTG672
Any others?   what problems have people had configuring them?
Thanks HM and Andy, et al
Phil - you're right I meant the 8200
55 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,738
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

The HH3 doesn't replace the modem it just has a wan port to connect to it.
The TG589 is another to add to your list, I have been using one for several months now, not a bad router, 1000% better than the 582. Missing dual band and Gigabit ports though.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Asus DSL-N66U and DSL-AC68U
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,662
Thanks: 341
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

The Billion 7800 doesn't.  It's that same Hairy McBiker says about the HH3.
Phil
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,391
Thanks: 219
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote from: AndyH
Asus DSL-N66U and DSL-AC68U

Neither of those have a VDSL modem do they?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Technicolor TG672 does VDSL.
It's a obsolete business class router, occasional pops up on ebay.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote
What is the Asus DSL-N66U?
Do you remember the Asus RT-N66U? It is arguably the best performing dual band 802.11n router currently on the market and predecessor to the superb 802.11ac compatible RT-AC66U. Now Asus is expanding the 66U brand again with a VDSL2 modem packing version of the N66U that is compatible with the latest fibre optic broadband standards.
Read more at http://www.trustedreviews.com/asus-dsl-n66u_Peripheral_review#JTsB4zMqBPJLuIQU.99

http://www.trustedreviews.com/asus-dsl-n66u_Peripheral_review
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,233
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote
Neither of those have a VDSL

The Asus DSL versions of the 66 & 68 do have a built in modem. Don't confuse them with the RT versions.
The excellent  AVM Fritz!Box 7490 doesn't require a modem but it's not cheap.
http://www.trustedreviews.com/avm-fritz-box-7490_Peripheral_review#tr-review-summary
For further options, please see below.
http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2014/01/broadband-router-options-uk-fttc-isps-integrated-vdsl-m...
mrcoyote
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 15-12-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

There's also the Cisco 887VA ISR, but it's not cheap at around £300 inc VAT.
toolateforaname
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 22-04-2014

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote from: mrcoyote
There's also the Cisco 887VA ISR, but it's not cheap at around £300 inc VAT.

Whats the story with cisco and running costs?    I seem to remember that they wanted to charge a support fee for access to patches and licences and so on?
toolateforaname
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 22-04-2014

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote from: tijara33
Quote
Neither of those have a VDSL

The Asus DSL versions of the 66 & 68 do have a built in modem. Don't confuse them with the RT versions.
The excellent  AVM Fritz!Box 7490 doesn't require a modem but it's not cheap.
http://www.trustedreviews.com/avm-fritz-box-7490_Peripheral_review#tr-review-summary
For further options, please see below.
http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2014/01/broadband-router-options-uk-fttc-isps-integrated-vdsl-m...


Thanks !    That ISP review is a good article
mrcoyote
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 15-12-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Quote from: toolateforaname

Whats the story with cisco and running costs?    I seem to remember that they wanted to charge a support fee for access to patches and licences and so on?

I guess it's more they're aimed at the enterprise market where it's more common to have support contracts, etc in place.  To your average home user it's a complete overkill, but to businesses where a device can cost in the many thousands, a few hundred for patches, etc is nothing.
highfield5
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Another possibility is the (newish) ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A.
I only bought one last week, so it's a bit early for any definite conclusions as to how good it is, but it's not looking too bad at the moment.
Costs around £100
Ian
toolateforaname
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 22-04-2014

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

Thats irritating - I cant edit the first post anymore  Sad
I was thinking tht it would be handy to have a list and then fill in features and details of any specific set up needs...
I understand that there are :
Routerconfirmed working on plusnet FTTC
Asus DSL-N66UY
Asus DSL-AC68U
BT HH5
Billion 8200
Cisco 887VA ISR
Draytek 2760
Draytek 2860
Fritxbox 7490
Fritzbox 7390
Technicolor TG589Y
Technicolor TG672
ZyXel VMG8324B10AY


gwillym
Grafter
Posts: 79
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: VDSL routers for FTTC?

BT HH5 also confirmed as working on Plusnet FTTC = had mine since Feb and no problems so far