cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a spare wireless router as a range extender??

francoise-hardy
Grafter

Using a spare wireless router as a range extender??

Hi all, I did a search and found:
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,111416.0.html
which gives a little info on what I am seeking.
What I have is a Konig  CMP-WNROUT10 that I was given. It is a wireless 4 port router, supporting PPPoE.
I would like to know if it will work as a wireless range extender at the end of one of my LAN cables, with a spare LAN port then feeding the pc that is already working at the end of this cable. My plusnet modem router is the TG582n. I have not tried this yet, so am seeking advice before I do.
I am not too knowlodgeable on hows and whys of such things but can usually follow setups ok. My background is servicing radio comms gear to component level the past 40 years, but all the dns, tcip, client etc is black magic to me!
Any ideas or help appreciated.
Thanks, Robin
6 REPLIES 6
nanotm
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Using a spare wireless router as a range extender??

sure it should be fairly simple to setup,
the easiest way to do this would be to connect the konig to the pc (not the tg582 at this point).
locate the LAN setup page and change its ip address to be something like 192.168.1.220 and fixed (assuming your tg582 still has the default setup for wifi and lan) and static.
now locate the wifi page and change the settings to match the tg582's wifi setup (ssid +password) with the same types of encryption selected.
now disable dhcp on the konig router, save and switch off.
connect the konig to the tg582 with your pc plugged into the konig and turn it back on
you should now be able ot log into the tg582 from the pc (default lan ip is 192.168.1.254) and the konig (if you used my earlier ip suggestion it will be 192.168.1.220).
your wifi items should be able to connect without requiring a new password with your range extended.