cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using TP-LINK TD 8817

FIXED
stuartjr
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-05-2016

Using TP-LINK TD 8817

I am trying to set up a replacement modem and cannot seem to get a working connection.

 

Scenario:

Existing modem works but has had reliability issues.

Plug in new modem and connect by Enet directly to PC

Can connect to modem from PC and set up username and password for WAN.

Connect to ADSL socket and modem trains up (apparently).

Using VPI 0; VCI 38; Connection PPPoA; Encapsulation VC-MUX; MTU 1400

The modem obtains WAN IP 172.20.187.20 (which is not my static IP address), usual subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway 172.16.16.15 and a DNS server address of 62.6.38.125 (which I don't recognise - not one I usually use).

The browser times out ('No Internet Connection').

Any ideas what I am doing wrong guys?

Thanks in anticipation.

 

Stuart

6 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,597
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

Fix

Is your username in the format username@plusdsl.net and is the password the same one you use to connect to the Plusnet Portal here ?

stuartjr
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

Thanks for the quick response - hoped that the @plusdsl.net might have solved it, but no. Same IP addresses (got the mask wrong before - it's 255.255.255.255). I am using the password which gets me into the plus net customer site.

stuartjr
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

Just looked up 172.20.187.20 on http://geoiplookup.net/ and not only does it quote the owner as Plus Net, but it also then displays what I recognise as my static IP address.

stuartjr
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

http://www.speedguide.net/ip/172.20.187.20 shows this address as "172.20.187.20 - IP address is in private non-routable range". So I suspect that in the previous reference to geoiplookup, it was actually giving me info re my actual connection :-(

 

stuartjr
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

Sorted! It was the @plusdsl.net bit that was needed (I mis-spelled it as pludsl.net). Oops! 

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,597
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Using TP-LINK TD 8817

The reason I asked about username and password is that when you get that wrong, you are given a private non routable IP address and then you have zero connectivity.

 

And you have that IP address type.

 

Glad it is sorted.