cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Ericfife
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 10-01-2014

Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Raised a Question (#79636804) last Thursday  - still had no response so thought I would try for advice here
Having problems trying to connect new laptop and new router-  got off to bad start as missed warning email so useage cap was reached  and account locked down.  No wonder couldnt get to work.  Once I realised this I updated account and switched to a pay as you go basis so that if useage tipped over would be added automatically as needed 1GB at a time with  - in theory - no loss of service. Also upgraded account to avoid problem in the future.
Initially seemed to work OK, set up router and was up and running.  But then 1/2 day later  BB died again and been unable to connect since. Am now going to try with new router in case this was a problem. Just wonder if auto top-up not working and account has tripped out again ? Anyone come across this problem before  ?
12 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Hi there,
Do you normally just turn the router on when you wish to use the connection, then off again afterwards? Your connection log for the past week is here:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13897181028437.png"/>

I'm wondering to be honest if the router is faulty, though if you do just turn it on when needed then off again after we'd recommend not doing so, and leaving the router on at all times if possible. First step I'd recommend on this one though is to try a new router to see if that makes any difference to the connection?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Matt, If he's on PAYG with a small allowance might he be turning it off to avoid the background activity usage?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Ericfife
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 10-01-2014

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Thanks - will take on board advice re keeping router on more  - I have ended to turn it off overnight
Will try to connect the new router tomorrow  & hopefully this will do the trick
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Thanks, hope it makes a difference - please let us know. With regard to usage, it's still being added but as it's still set to flexible you won't be slowed down on that score.
@jelv - true, though I'm not sure what bearing that has either on the user's speed or the possible dropping connection issue shown by the radius graph?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Matt, it was just an observation on your comment
Quote from: Matt
though if you do just turn it on when needed then off again after we'd recommend not doing so, and leaving the router on at all times if possible.

He may have a reason he was turning it off.
Does the amount he's paying in extra usage this month add up to the difference in price between his current package and the upgrade he's selected? If so could you switch him early?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Yes, good call - and done Smiley @Ericfife, I've moved you onto the new product, should save a bit of money on the extra usage. Hope it makes a difference, please let us know.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

@Ericfife, now that's been done leave your router permanently on and connected. That way it can be identified if there are unexpected drops.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Ericfife
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 10-01-2014

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Many thanks for the advice to-date and account switch.
Spent most of this afternoon trying to get new router - Netgear DGN 2200 - to connect to broadband
Entered all parameters as per PN guidance but Just wouldn't accept username/password .
about to give up when my neighbour suggested trying to change the PN password then trying again
So I logged onto my PN account via my iPad and  changed the password
Tried again using the new password on the router - bit of an anxious wait then bingo red BB light turned to green & I was connected
Email skype etc all working ok
However the good news wasn't to last - only about half an hour or so later BB light turned red again and I lost  the connection
No obvious reason why - no sign of it coming back either
As suggested I have kept the router on so activity can be logged
Any ideas please  ?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Hmm, is the router in the master phone socket (where the line comes into the house) via a microfilter, and further are all phones and anything else plugged into the line also connected via filters? If not, please set them up like that as it'll minimise any interference and go a long way to stopping the connection from dropping. If it's set up like that already, or making those changes doesn't stop the line from dropping connection, you'd be best raising a fault at http://faults.plus.net and we'll get it sorted from there.
Ericfife
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 10-01-2014

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Thanks - will try this and see how I get on. Coming to the conclusion that may be  due to interference with the phone or some issue with connections inside house.
Ericfife
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 10-01-2014

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Now tried everything as suggested - unable to connect to BB at all so unable to test for interference
But phone line clear and according to BT line test there is no fault with the incoming line
So back to square one again - will need to follow up as fault via helpline
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Useage Cap - Problems with PAYG Broadband Access

Or you could raise it directly at http://faults.plus.net ?