cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Usage monitor when idle

Hobbit
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 22-11-2007

Usage monitor when idle

Currently away for a few days and have left the router all connected but no PC's switched on etc. so nothing being used at home to connect to the internet.
On checking usage stats after logging in from my current location i notice that I am somehow using nearly 1GB a day? Appears to be around 650MB daytime use and around 310GB off peak use,
Anyone know why these figures are so high when the only thing connected is the router to the phone line and nothing else?
Cheers.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

can you check the wireless connections
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Are you certain you've not got any 'kB', 'MB' or 'GB' mixed up?
If close to a 'GB' is being used in a day then you need to check (wi-fi) security settings on your router.
Do you have any other connected devices switched on in the home (security cameras or any 'smart' devices)?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Hobbit
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 22-11-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Quote from: w23
Are you certain you've not got any 'kB', 'MB' or 'GB' mixed up?
If close to a 'GB' is being used in a day then you need to check (wi-fi) security settings on your router.
Do you have any other connected devices switched on in the home (security cameras or any 'smart' devices)?

Yes it is nearly 1GB a day just a mistype on the offpeak I quoted (Peak 650MB Offpeak 310MB).
The only thing still running apart from the router is a wireless extender left plugged in at the opposite end of the house. Is it possible that relaying the wireless signal from the main router to the extender would use that much when no other devices are using the internet? Sky box still connected but not actually switched on or running anything. Also the amount being used is roughly the same each day both peak and off peak times?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 735
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Quote
Is it possible that relaying the wireless signal from the main router to the extender would use that much when no other devices are using the internet?
That won't generate any Internet traffic.
Quote
Sky box still connected but not actually switched on or running anything
Was it actually powered off OR in Standby ?
Hobbit
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 22-11-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Sky Box is actually on standby, can it really generate that much usage?
jim:quote
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 735
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

TBH I don't know for certain but in Standby I would be fairly sure that it is still capable of using the network.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Hi Hobbit,
I wouldn't expect your Sky box to use that much data unless your were downloading or streaming.
I've attached  a graph of your usage which shows a breakdown for August and also for a single day.
<img src="http://ccgi.jbraud.plus.com/images/1407849535-53ea143f3ca4b.png" />
<img src="http://ccgi.jbraud.plus.com/images/1407849451-53ea13eb5ee26.png" />
It's not been used throughout the majority of the day on the 10th, something has happened shortly after midnight.
It would be worth disconnecting your Sky box though for a night from your Internet to see if it does make a difference. 
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 735
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Is it me? or do those figures for the 10th look a bit 'odd' ? Apart from the first 2 hours it's all upload! and a sizeable amount when compared with the negligible download.
Hobbit
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 22-11-2007

Re: Usage monitor when idle

Thanks for the feedback / info.
House became empty early hours of Sunday Morning (10th) and no one around until later this week which is why I noticed the odd usage whilst nothing in use.
No chance of disconnecting anything until later this week when I am back home.
Not really sure what it is but will try disconnecting the sky box and see if that makes any difference when I get back.
Guess it is not that worrying as it is unlimited usage with Plusnet.