cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upstream rate now capped?

sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Upstream rate now capped?

I was on the ADSL2+ DLM trial and as the trial finished I decided that I preferred my line with the DLM turned off.
I was getting downstream rates > 5000 kbps  and upstream > 1000 kbps.
I've just noticed today (I don't know how long it's been like this) that my upstream is now fixed at 448 kbps.
Mode:			ADSL2
Channel: Fast
Trellis: U:OFF /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.7 23.7
Attn(dB): 42.0 25.2
Pwr(dBm): 19.4 12.0
Max(Kbps): 5448 18035
Rate (Kbps): 5447 448

Anyone else on a fixed DLM profile seeing this or is it just me?  I'm not sure if the cap can now be removed without re-enabling the DLM - which is something I definitely do NOT want!.
19 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,016
Thanks: 2,078
Fixes: 305
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Nope it's all good here (877 / 7178 kbps)

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Glad yours is okay.
I knew I couldn't trust BT to not fiddle with the settings after the trial  Sad
I'll keep my fingers crossed that something can be done without switching DLM back on.
ctech500
Grafter
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎06-08-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Hi
I know that i may be going slightly OT but can any  ADSL2 user have DLM  switched off or is it just those who were  on trail
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,016
Thanks: 2,078
Fixes: 305
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

AFAIAA it's just those on the trial and they had the option to stay on the last config or got back to DLM.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

I'm still off DLM control, and my upstream is fine:

DownStream Connection Speed 15932 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 1160 kbps
B.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,880
Thanks: 1,248
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

The trial was simply that, to gather feedback from user experience and opinions from ISPs. My understanding is that the trial was run by placing orders on BT Wholesale to change settings - not something suitable for full-time open use. However feedback was very positive (I don't recall any adverse comment here) and the hope is that BT Wholesale will build an ISP control panel to provide options for manual profile control.
At the end of the trial trialists were given the option of sticking with their final profile or reverting to full DLM control. Not surprisingly the former option was the one most (if not all) went for. Until (and if) an ISP control panel becomes available non-trialists (and any trialist requiring anything changed) are stuck with full DLM control. Sad
David
sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Looks like it's only me then so far  Angry
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-09-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Hi Robr,
in another thread I have seen my SNRM and UPstream connect change all of a sudden.
6dB & 1000+ UPstream //changed// >>  31.6dB and 443kBit UP
Unable to elicit a response from DLM MSAN etc. by reseting the router through its Web interface.
Wait and see I guess.
NB. Never been on the trial so no connection there.
Toby
sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Hi newthing
The dlm trial isn't the common factor, but the upstream capping looks familiar  Sad
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-09-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Mmm
Undecided
T.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

@robr, you were capped, not sure why, but I've placed the order for you now and it should be uncapped from Monday.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

@newthing, same goes for you.
sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

Mand,  will this order turn the DLM back on??  Is so, please cancel it as I'd prefer to keep the stable download rate that I've had since the end of the DLM trial.
Thanks
sladkart
Grafter
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Upstream rate now capped?

No change yet.  Looks like it's still capped.  Tried rebooting the router this morning and upstream still on 448.
Mode:			ADSL2
Channel: Fast
Trellis: U:OFF /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.4 23.7
Attn(dB): 42.0 25.3
Pwr(dBm): 19.5 11.8
Max(Kbps): 5528 17817
Rate (Kbps): 5605 448

Was the order cancelled?  There's a ticket on my account on Friday saying
Quote
The upstream setting has been set to: Uncapped

but nothing newer.
Thanks