cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload speed far too low

rionek
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 25-05-2014

Upload speed far too low

Hi, first ever post in this forum...
Does the upload speed look right? Seems quite low to me... currently connected via ethernet, but get similar speeds over wifi
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Upload speed far too lopw

Your upload needs uncapping - if you check the router stats you will find it is either 443 or 444 kbps at a guess
Raise a ticket asking for it to be uncapped https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=wizard&page=22883&wizard_id=38
Topic split off to its own thread
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 418
Fixes: 150
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Upload speed far too low

Hi there
I've placed the order to uncap your upload which will complete on Wednesday morning
Any further issues please let us know
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
rionek
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 25-05-2014

Re: Upload speed far too low

Thank you both!  Smiley
Why is the default so slow?
What speed should I expect once uncapping is completed?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upload speed far too low

It shouldn't be - it was supposed to be fixed
However you may have joined before they changed it
The reason it was low was that the initial trials of ADSL2+ showed some problems with instability and they played ultra safe. Now shown to be a wrong decision
You should get about 1000kbps
rionek
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 25-05-2014

Re: Upload speed far too low

Aha. I was connected on a brand new connection last week... Were you expecting the change around then?
c1000kbps sounds much better
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upload speed far too low

I did say - Was supposed to be fixed - it obviously wasn't
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 418
Fixes: 150
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Upload speed far too low

The order in question was placed manually by a agent rather than through automation which is why the wrong setting was chosen
I've made the agent in question aware so that this doesn't happen again
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upload speed far too low

Matthew
There are far too many cases coming up where the agent places the order manually and gets it wrong
Can I suggest that the options screen should be changed to make the default uncapped
saguaro
Grafter
Posts: 78
Thanks: 1
Registered: 26-01-2011

Re: Upload speed far too low

Wait, what? Does this mean I've been unneccessarily putting up with 0.34 Mb uploads for the last three years?
(I was aware of the possibility of uncapping, but wasn't sure I wanted to risk it.)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Upload speed far too low

If you're on 21CN, you can (if you're upload speeds are capped) request for it to be uncapped. all new orders that are placed via automation, have their upload speeds uncapped.
@Oldjim - Unfortunately that would require Dev work on our suppliers systems which isn't going to happen as it's something we should be getting right. Hopefully when our new provisioning solution has been released, we'll not see this as often, if at all.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
saguaro
Grafter
Posts: 78
Thanks: 1
Registered: 26-01-2011

Re: Upload speed far too low

It looks as though that got done for me overnight. Thank you!
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,063
Thanks: 2,419
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Upload speed far too low

Quote from: Oldjim
There are far too many cases coming up where the agent places the order manually and gets it wrong

Given that this issue arises out of manual provisioning orders, is this an activity which is limited to a select group of agents?  If so then is there not a small closed group who need to be reminded to alter the default setting - as I have raised before?
If it is a small group - put a "Do not forget to change US speed on manual orders" sticker on every screen!

Kevin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Upload speed far too low

Or send Adam round with the cricket bat. That usually works.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
KaotiK
Grafter
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-04-2009

Re: Upload speed far too low

so can you get your upload speed uncapped on adsl2?