cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload speed capped?

rizemeq
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎29-12-2013

Upload speed capped?

Hi,
My upload speed is pretty slow, which hasn't generally been an issue but is becoming more of one as I'm using things like google docs and picture back up more. A quick google suggests Plusnet cap upload speeds by default but will remove it by request?
Is this correct info? If so can i request that here or as i assume raise a support ticket somewhere?
Thanks.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Upload speed capped?

They no longer cap upload speeds by default only by mistake  Shocked
What speed does your router report
rizemeq
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎29-12-2013

Re: Upload speed capped?

448 Kbps
It's a Fibre enabled exchange but my cabinet isn't. Download is 4448 Kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Upload speed capped?

Which exchange are you on?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rizemeq
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎29-12-2013

Re: Upload speed capped?

Gateforth
JayG
Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎30-10-2011

Re: Upload speed capped?

According to Samknows, your exchange is not 21CN WBC enabled, so you are on ADSL Max, meaning that 448kbps is your maximum possible upload speed, unless you are prepared to pay for Premium, which will give you a maximum upload speed of 832kbps.
(The guide to broadband speeds on PN's portal still shows ADSL2+ speeds capped at 448kbps by default, and Max Premium available to all customers - the first we are told is now untrue, the second has been said to be incorrect because it actually only applies to business customers, but how would I know?  Undecided)
Your best hope for better all-round speeds is that your cabinet does become FTTC/P enabled sooner rather than later.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Upload speed capped?

I've gone on to the BT availability checker and can confirm that you don't have 21CN so your choice is ADSL Max (which you are on at present) or Max Premium which costs an extra £7.83 a month. More information form the link at http://trials.plus.net
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)