cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload cap

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,012
Registered: 01-08-2007

Upload cap

On May 6th I requested the upload cap be removed ticket #69243504 and nothing happened so I spoke to Customer Services om May 10th who advised me that the order had been placed and should complete soon (Question #69433943}.
As nothing happened I raised another ticket Question #69724079 when a new order was placed to uncap the upstream rate.  I received this response on Question #69724043:
Quote
A modify order on this account was unsuccessful.The reason given was "The supplied service Id does not refer to an active asset".Modify order type:An attempt to change the upstream capping..Please check why the order has been rejected and contact the customer.

I asked for someone to update me on what was going on, but so far have heard nothing.  Can someone please look into this for me, as it has been two weeks since my original request.
18 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Upload cap

Hi there,
I've placed a modify order to uncap your upload, this will complete tomorrow.
I've also updated your ticket.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,012
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Upload cap

Many thanks for clearing that up Chris and thanks for your speedy response.
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Any chance my uploads can be uncapped?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Upload cap

@Damian78
That's been placed for you, it will complete tomorrow.
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,012
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Upload cap

Chris:
Many thanks.  The change happened just after 1am this morning.  Very happy.
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Thanks Chris.
All seems well now :-)
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Hi chaps,
Just noticed my internet light on my router was red this morning. Internet still worked. Could that be from when the connection dropped yesterday morning to uncap my upload speed?
Will reset the router later. Tempted to update the firmware also.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upload cap

The Red light issue is a known one of no consequence applying to several Thomson Modem/routers not just the 582n. Just log in to the Modem/Router, in the Internet box, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session (this is not the sync), wait 30 seconds then click Connect. It should go back to Green. (It should ensure the relevant BT servers are updated with the current sync speeds.)
As regards the firmware, that's a replacement 582n - with a USB port is it not? What firmware has it got on it at present? I wouldn't be rushing to change it, there can be some issues, it depends on whether you are currently seeing any problems (apart from the trivial irritating red light) and which firmware you were thinking of using?
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Thanks.
Will disconnect when I get home.
Was tempted to try the latest 10.Huh firmware for the USB enabled router then switch to ADSL mode.
Only as the last update I made to my old router did seem to improve wifi reception at the furthest points in my house.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upload cap

Which firmware is on the one you have at the moment? The one with the USB port may have different original firmware.
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Think its 8.4.J.? Will have to check later. Think its the latest current.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upload cap

Some replacements went out with 8.4.4.I (that's capital i) which one user has reported as been somewhat better than 8.4.4.J and 8.4.4.I doesn't seem to be available for download anywhere.
Damian78
Grafter
Posts: 118
Registered: 22-04-2013

Re: Upload cap

Mines J come to think of it.
PN - Could 8.4.4.I or later become available to download or be pushed to my router?Huh