cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload Speed

pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Upload Speed

I synch at 7616 with an IP profile of 6500.  I generally get reasonable download speeds but my uploads are never better than 310kbps.  Is this normal?  I would have expected to get a bit closer to 448kbps than I do.

Date                          Download Speed          Upload Speed 
Today 16:15            6163 kbps (770kB/s)    308 kbps (38.5kB/s) 
Today 16:08            6113 kbps (764kB/s)    310 kbps (38.8kB/s) 
Today 01:04            6115 kbps (764kB/s)    309 kbps (38.6kB/s) 
Saturday 09:19        6119 kbps (765kB/s)    310 kbps (38.8kB/s) 
Friday 18:26            5728 kbps (716kB/s)    308 kbps (38.5kB/s) 
Friday 11:34            6121 kbps (765kB/s)    310 kbps (38.8kB/s) 
Thursday 10:00        6118 kbps (765kB/s)    305 kbps (38.1kB/s) 
Wednesday 22:27    6135 kbps (767kB/s)    305 kbps (38.1kB/s) 
Wednesday 09:05    6119 kbps (765kB/s)    306 kbps (38.3kB/s) 
Nov 25, 11:58            6119 kbps (765kB/s)    308 kbps (38.5kB/s) 
Nov 25, 06:23            6118 kbps (765kB/s)    309 kbps (38.6kB/s) 
Nov 24, 23:57            6124 kbps (766kB/s)    309 kbps (38.6kB/s) 
Last night I was uploading 25Meg to a website (not PN) and it seemed to take forever.
Peter
14 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed

To be honest, I'd normally expect 300-380Kbps.
So I don't think you really have anything to worry about.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,994
Thanks: 1,437
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Upload Speed

If you want faster upload speeds you can add Max Premier on to your account which doubles the upload speed.
It's an 8 quid a month

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Re: Upload Speed

Thanks James.
@adiewoo
Double upload speed would be nice but I can't really justify an extra £8 a month for it for the times I do have big uploads.

I always said they'd got the planning wrong with Max - I'd have been much happier with 5Meg down and 1Meg up - I think they were a bit short sighted to assume that all people did was to browse web pages.
Peter
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed

Hi Peter,
I'm sure Barry will correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe the frequencies on standard ADSL will allow upload speeds that high.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Upload Speed

LOL
You're right, James - the frequency band for ADSL upstream is pretty narrow and it's also very difficult to squeeze any more bits into each tone.  Max Premium adjusts the frequency spread used for upstream and downstream.
The basic frequency allocation for ADSL are:
    * 0-4 kHz, voice.
    * 4-25 kHz, unused "guard" band.   (This essentially gives a buffer between the voice signal and the ADSL tones)
    * 25-138 kHz, 25 upstream bins (7-31).
    * 138-1107 kHz, 224 downstream bins (32-255).
Each bin can carry (up to) 15 bits.
I do tend to agree with pd - by sacrificing a little downstream bandwidth they could have improved the upstream.  HOWEVER, this would have meant sacrificing the "most reliable" frequencies from the downstream, which certainly would have meant that some of the longer reach (61dB+ attenuation) lines may not have been able to receive an ADSL connection at all.
ADSL2+ does seem to allow some means of reallocating upstream/downstream "bins", but it does vary by DSLAM vendor so don't expect it to be easy!
B.
pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Re: Upload Speed

Thanks for the explanation, Barry, not too well up on the mechanics of it.
Quote from: Barry
HOWEVER, this would have meant sacrificing the "most reliable" frequencies from the downstream, which certainly would have meant that some of the longer reach (61dB+ SNR) lines may not have been able to receive an ADSL connection at all.

I guess then that maybe they DID know what they were doing.
Peter
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Upload Speed

Well, if they had made it truly dynamic, they could have made it user-changeable and optional.
So, on a long-reach 61dB line, you could have been limited to 288K upstream, to give you perhaps 1M downstream.  Those of you who live inside the exchange could have settled for a 5Meg downstream and  4Meg upstream if they had chosen.
Would have meant investing in more backhaul capacity upstream though..
B.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed

Quote from: pd
I synch at 7616 with an IP profile of 6500.

What sync speed does your router report for upload?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Re: Upload Speed

Quote from: jelv
Quote from: pd
I synch at 7616 with an IP profile of 6500.

What sync speed does your router report for upload?

448kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed

There are overheads which will reduce the maximum theoretical speed. I know for download it's around 8%, whether it is the same for upload I don't know. Before I upgraded to Max Premium I was getting around 365-375 - I've not seen anyone post upload speeds much higher than that.
Have you tweaked your MTU and RWIN settings? That might help.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Re: Upload Speed

Hi jelv
I did tweak the MTU and RWIN some time ago but it didn't seem to make any difference.  365-375 is around the figure I would have expected.
Peter
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Upload Speed

my highest is 382 and I am on a good line
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Upload Speed

A simple thing to check - when you did the tweaking did you make sure that the MTU on your router was the same or higher than the MTU on your PC? (I've never seen evidence that setting the router MTU to anything other than the maximum - 1500 - gives any improvement).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pd
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: 09-05-2008

Re: Upload Speed

I went through my MTU settings again last night and nothing needed changing according to dslreports.com tweak tester everything passed with no suggestions for change.  I also tried a few other speedtesters and am coming to the conclusion that http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/ is not accurate on the upload for some reason, this one on bbmax for instance gives an upload more in line with what I would expect, so did the one on thinkbroadband.