Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi,
It's been suggested that upgrading the firmware of my Technicolor TG582n might make it more resistant to the various attacks visible in the log, which seem to be making it unresponsive.
I've identified updated firmware in another post in this forum, but I can't see anything that says how you actually update the firmware....
Ideally I would want a method that works on a Mac (even via Telnet?), but otherwise I have a Parallels Windows XP available too.
Thanks,
Michael
108 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,404
Thanks: 127
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

See the following quote for a link to TG582n flashing instructions and the utility software needed. Unfortunately it is Windows only.
Quote from: P
The process to flash a router is quite simple, though is only available to windows users. Instructions can be found here which is applicable to the TG582n as well.
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,009
Thanks: 52
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

I did try this when I had a 582, even using the M$ app (on XP), it wouldn't complete (failed at several places several times) and I had to get Chris to do it from PN, might be worth asking if they can update it for you.
Grafter
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎25-06-2009

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

I can upgrade your firmware to the latest version remotely if you like. Give me the nod and I'll push it out.
Matt
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-08-2012

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi,
Wondered what the latest firmware was this router was now - I have 8.4.4.J and, after nearly a year, wondered if there were more recent versions, not least the 10.X series I see some references to. How would I get it? Is it possible just to ask someone? If so, I'm asking!
Neil
Grafter
Posts: 5,369
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi Neil,
We currently have a 10.2.2.B version available if you wish to try this one.
You can upgrade via this link - http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/
Grafter
Posts: 1,375
Registered: ‎17-11-2012

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

What are the benefits of upgrading to this 10x version?
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

i`ve just got my router and its 8.C.M.0 will this be upgraded or is this the latest one,    due to be switch on from thr 15th may
Community Veteran
Posts: 25,447
Thanks: 71
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,114824.0.html
Note it is a test version - I'd suggest running on the shipped version for a week or so before attempting anything as brave as partially tested firmware.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
Broadband: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre (55/10)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Plusnet Complaints Code of Practice
Complain to OFCOM
Plusnet Community
Speed Wave
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-07-2013

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi Guys,
I've recently got given an o2 wireless box 5, which appears to be a Technicolor TG582n.
I want to flash the firmware either to the plusnet version or the generic version so I can use this on my BB.
I downloaded the TG_UPGRADE.zip file, and the PN TG582n R844J + USB.bin file but when I run the Thomson software it finds the TG582n and asks for Username and password. I enter the details but it fails to access saying the username or password is wrong.
I access 192.168.1.254 and it logs me in fine, but the Thomson software just wont authorise.
Any ideas?
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-07-2013

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

I've just attempted to telnet to the router and the error is:
Login not allowed (User 'Administrator' is disallowed to login from lan to telnet)
Closing Connection
hmmmm......
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,958
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

There's no gaurantee the plusnet firmware is compatible with the o2 582n anyway, because they may be different models, plusnet's are DANT-T (adsl variant modified with no usb port), I think some o2 units are DANT-1 and the firmware's aren't interchangeable.
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-07-2013

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Yes, I just found using the user "SuperUser" with the normal password has worked, but my model is the DANT-1
I'm currently trying to use telnet to create a new ppp connection. I cannot edit the O2 connection for some reason
Aghhhh! Gotta love O2... Sad
Grafter
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎25-06-2009

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi,
I believe that O2 routers are locked down to only connect to their systems. I don't think you can flash non-O2 firmware to them either.
If there is a "_VARIANT_ID" in the environment list command from telnet then they you won't be able to flash another firmware on without having that same variant id in the firmware file.
Sorry,
Matt
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎20-04-2010

Re: Upgrading firmware of Technicolor TG582n?

Hi
Windows 7 Home Premium
I have a Plusnet Tecnicolor TG582n router modem supplied by plusnet with software release 8.4.4J
I recently enquired of Plusnet Support how to upgrade and download the firmware for this model.
I was told that I cannot do it individually and that it is done on a batch update automatically via plusnet.
However I notice from this thread that there is a version 10.2.2B available for download.
I am puzzled why there has been no automatic update to the 10.2.2B version and am just wondering if the member of support was not correct in the information he gave me.
Can anyone shed any light on this for me .
Thanks
Terry