cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading Package?

MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Upgrading Package?

I've just recently set up my first "real" internet. I am currently using Unlimited Broadband and calls (ADSL) which is working perfectly fine most days.
Well enough to watch videos and netflix without having to wait for any buffering (yay!)
Anyway... I don't have enough Upload speed for what I want & one could always use more Download speed, so I was just wondering... is it possible for me to upgrade to the Unlimited Fibre Broadband and calls package?
Or am I stuck with my current contract until it ends?
I've looked around and all I can see is the option to DOWNGRADE packages once per month, which seems rather pointless to be honest.
P.S. -- Not looking to switch right away. Just gathering info Smiley
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upgrading Package?

yes you can if it is available - have you checked
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

I haven't checked, nope. I figured my first stop should be here.
How do I go about checking?
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,522
Thanks: 671
Fixes: 60
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Upgrading Package?

MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Hmm strange.
"FTTC is currently not available on this cabinet due to following reasons:- Sorry your cabinet is temporarily unavailable, capacity will be restored as soon as possible."
It says the Availability Date is 26th of March.
I have seen the service box I believe it says Fibre Optic is available around where I live. I am unsure why its offline though. Its been here a while I think.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upgrading Package?

not really
it means your cab is full and will stay that way until they add a new batch of connections on or about the 26th March
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Oh right. I guess I shall wait until then and see if anything changes.
Thanks Jim.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Hi GameGenieBob,
I'd suggest raising us a ticket advising that you are interested in Fibre but that you are aware that this isn't available to you until 26/03/2014. Our team will then forward this to the Fibre team and they can monitor for this to become available and confirm this to you.
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Ok Linn thanks for the suggestion. How do I raise a ticket? Tongue
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

You can do this here: contactus.plus.net
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

I have posted. I wasn't sure which section to stick it under so I just put it under Other.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Cheers. If you want to post the Ticket ID number here I can ensure it gets passed to the correct team for you Smiley
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

If I am looking at the correct part... the ticket number should be #82191597
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Thanks! I've escalated the ticket to the correct team for you and added notes on there for you! Smiley Now it's just a waiting game  Cheesy
MegaPixelMan
Grafter
Posts: 76
Registered: 31-01-2014

Re: Upgrading Package?

Brilliant stuff, thanks again Linn.