cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to 21CN

Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Upgraded to 21CN

My connection was upgraded to 21CN on Wednesday and since then its been having problems. My D/L speed has not changed, its still around 6-7mbs even though the router says the max is 13, but I'm now getting disconnections throughout the day. They're only for a few minutes at a time, but over the last few days I've been getting 2 or 3 a day whereas before I never had any.
21 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Hi Mandoo,
I have raised your profile to 14200 to allow for your new BT IP profile. This should take effect shortly.
I can see the disconnections you're on about, can you tell me if you're using any extension cables/sockets? Do you have a test socket you can plug into?
Jojo Smiley
Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Hi Jo,
The router is already connected directly into the main (and only) socket.
Mandy
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Is there no socket behind when you remove the faceplate?
Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Sorry, I misunderstood when you meant.  Roll eyes
I assume that there is a test socket behind the faceplate, but I've not actually checked before, I've not had need to before. I can try and get to it, but not until Monday as its hidden behind some furniture and I'm away for the weekend.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

OK, once you do, leave it in there so we can test while it's in there Smiley
Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Jojo, I am still experiencing disconnections, but only when the phone is in use. If someone dials out from a handset on the line or we receive an incoming call the internet cuts off. We can reconnect straight away, but is not a problem we had before the changeover.
I'm still not able to get to the master test socket at the moment, but I should be able to do that early next week. My sister is getting married at the weekend so the house is a bit manic with people everywhere and I can't get the furniture out to reach the socket behind it.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,172
Thanks: 1,322
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

An impending wedding has a very high chaos rating so I'm sure Jojo understands the delay Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator.

jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Hi Mandoo,
sounds like a filter problem. Are you using filters on all phones in the house? If so the replace them just to rule that out. Let me know when you get a chance to put it in the test socket.
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Quote from: Mandoo
The router is already connected directly into the main (and only) socket.

Roll eyes
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,172
Thanks: 1,322
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Quote from: Mandoo
I assume that there is a test socket behind the faceplate, but I've not actually checked before, I've not had need to before. I can try and get to it, but not until Monday as its hidden behind some furniture and I'm away for the weekend.

Hence Jojo's comment.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Filter was changed yesterday afternoon and I haven't noticed any disconnections since then. Speed seems to be a minor issue though, we seem to have gone back to the 6-7mb we were on before the upgrade. We've had patches that have been as high as 12mb, but the speed doesn't seem to be stable like it was before the upgrade.
Thinking of upgrading to Fibre now though so its not a huge concern at the moment.
Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Jojo, are you able to check my disconnections for this week?
I haven't noticed any problems since I changed the filter, but today I'm getting all sorts of issues. Numerous disconnections and slow speeds seem to be the main issues.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

Hi there,
Looks like there's been a lot of disconnections very recently (early this afternoon in fact) but was alright until then... did something happen?
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13353665565643.png" />
Mandoo
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 24-03-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN

I'm not aware of anything specific happening, but the weather has been appalling today with really heavy rain and a bit of thunder and lightening. The issue seems to have corrected itself now though and everything seems to be back to normal.
I'll leave things as they are for now and see how we go, hopefully it was down to the weather or something.