cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to 21CN question

StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Upgraded to 21CN question

Hi,
Not so long ago i recived an email from plusnet advising that as my exchange had been upgraded to 21CN my connection would be migraded in the following weeks.
On Monday i cheked the closed questions in the help assistant and found the following note:
The broadband service is now being transferred to the 21C Network.

The transfer will complete by midnight on 21/02/2012
.
This morning i rebooted my router and found that there had been no speed increase, speed tests indicated that my download speeds had remained the same.
My router is showing the following:
ADSL Type: G992_1_A
Downstream Data Rate (Kbps): 8064
Downstream Noise Margin: 7.5
Downstream Output Power: 7.9
Downstream Attenuation: 7.4
Upstream Data Rate (Kbps): 1056
Upstream Noise Margin: 12.0
Upstream Output Power: 10.6
Upstream Attenuation: 2.0
Would it be possable for someone to check my line and confirm that i have indeed been moved over to 21CN?
Thanks

19 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Looking at the upload speed then you have been moved, it may take a couple of days for your profile to catch up for your download.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Just Checked https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Estimated line speed:Not recorded (service activated before we introduced estimates).
Current line speed: 7.15 Mb
I am sitting on the dorstep of the exchange....almoat, surely i should see some speed increase?

Alos my router is showing that my line mode is G.992.1 whcih if the previous posts are correct, means that i am on ADSL.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Does your router support ADSL2+? As you've just commented your stats currently show an ADSL1 connection but if Plusnet had provisioned migration on ADSL1 I'd have expected the upstream sync speed (Data Rate) to be 448kbps.
With your attenuation, on ADSL2+ your downstream sync speed should be near the maximum achievable.
David
StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Thanks for the quick reply,
I am currently usng a belkin N+ Modem-Router - Hardware: F5D8635-4v1.....should have given that on my 1st post  Embarrassed
According to Belkin the device is Compatible with ADSL, ADSL 2 & ADSL 2+
StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Have ran some further tests
http://www.speedtester.bt.com/
Download speedachieved during the test was - 6.94 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 7.11 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 969Kbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 832 Kbps

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Regards
StormWarden
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

That BT speedtester result includes an upload test so you are definitely on 21CN. However the stats you posted show an ADSL1 connection. It's possible that your router has been configured to connect with that protocol though the normal (default) setting is multimode where the router would try ADSL2+, ADSL2 then ADSL1 in turn.
Hopefully Plusnet will take a look at this in the morning.
David
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

I'd guess OP is on 21CN but on ADSL1
So the first message they got from Plusnet was technically correct in that they were being migrated to 21CN
The message said nothing about being upgraded to ADSL2+ !!
The upstream sync of 1051 seems like an upcapped one for an ADSL2+ connection - which I agree is odd for ADSL1
Most routers do not report downstream power figures on ADSL2+.  not sure whether this is a bug in the router software or the exchange software......but the stats provided by the OP DO show it.  Another reason to suggest they are on 21CN network but still on ADSL1.
StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

I appologise I think i got myself confused    Crazy
This morning i rooted around my inbox an found the original notification and it did mention that I would still remain on my corrent speed.
"You will remain on the same 'up to 8Mbps' speeds that you have currently but are likely to see a better broadband performance".
What would need to be done so that i could get the higher speeds?
Regards
StormWarden
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Ask nicely Smiley

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Hi
Would you please upgade my line speed..... Grin
Refgards
StormWarden
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Done, ticket/email confirmation sent Smiley
StormWarden
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 22-02-2012

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Thanks Jo,
Just cheked my router stats and it does show that my throughput has changed:
Type: G992_5_A
Data Rate - Downstream: 20215 - Upstream:888  Cheesy
Noise Margin - Downstream: 6.0  - Upstream: 15.8
Output Power - Downstream: 0.0 - Upstream: 10.9
Attenuation - Downstream: 9.3 - Upstream: 3.4
BT Speed Test
Download speedachieved during the test was - 6.83 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 17.83 Mbps
As I am in the training period this should change?
Regards
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

Might be worth looking here with respect to your upload speed http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,102468.0.html and asking for interleaving to be turned off
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,768
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to 21CN question

If you check Current line speed in the Member Centre you will probably find that still says 7.15Mbps. Plusnet might need to change account settings including increasing that to 17.8Mbps for you to see the increased speeds
David