cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade process for and older account.

cja
Grafter
Posts: 45
Registered: 06-08-2007

Upgrade process for and older account.

I have "PlusNet Broadband Premier Option 1 (Monthly Contract, No Modem)" it also has:
- .co.uk domain for £1
- .co.uk domain for free (when you had the email spamming incident in 2007 ?).
the account comes with webspace and static ip.
I now want "Broadband only PlusNet Extra - Monthly Contract" and to retain
- my 2 .co.uk domains.
- webspace
- static ip address.
Some questions:
1.  I believe the cost will be £11.49 (+£1 for .co.uk, the other being free) = £12.49 per month ?  (I'm on a low cost exchange)
2.  How best to organise this and ensure the Website and Static ip address are retained ?
3.  Does the static IP address change ?
4.  What is the exact sequence and timing ?
5.  Is it correct all the changes take place at end of the billing month ?
6.  Anything else I need to know ?
Just want to know what happens and make sure it all goes well.
Ta
cja
13 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

HI cja,
Just schedule an account change and your current components will remain unless you were to remove them during the process.
Jojo Smiley
cja
Grafter
Posts: 45
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Thanks,
Could you confirm the pricing (Q1) ?
CJA
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Yes, you are correct, it's £11.49 for Extra and £1 for the domain Smiley
cja
Grafter
Posts: 45
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Joanne,
Followed you advice and to make sure raised a ticket Question #57488171.  Have a look at the reply I got.
It suggests the standard account change would have dropped my old account features and that the process needs to be run manually, which is a bit different to your reply of using the automated upgrade process.  No idea who is right but it might be worth checking, so we all get the same advice.
I can't help thinking it would be good if the upgrade process could actually check your current product and either do the work correctly or tell you to raise a help desk ticket instead, rather than have to complain when it doesn't go how you expect.
Ta
CJA
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Hi there,
The reply you had on the ticket is correct so I'll let Jojo know. Sorry for any confusion!
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

So an explanation about the best method on how one should keep the old account features might be useful.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Quote
.....an explanation about the best method on how one should keep the old account

The response on the ticket would imply that in the circumstances of someone wishing to change from a legacy account type to a current one whilst retaining features of  the old account which aren't offered on the new account type, raising a ticket is the right thing to do.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Thanks for that.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Ah, sorry about that guys. I obviously don't remember the old accounts, being so young an' all! Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

I think you've already been forgiven  Wink
The_10th
Grafter
Posts: 1,090
Registered: 08-04-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

The old account features always needed to be kept manually.
cja
Grafter
Posts: 45
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

Why doesn't the Product Change tool
- give a warning you need to raise a ticket to keep old features as plain text.
-  better still spot its an old product and do a dynamic warning
-  or even allow you to change it to manual ticket and add the extra text about what you want to keep.
The problem isn't Joanne or Adam, it is what happens if someone didn't ask... how would they know until features disappeared.
Fix the Product Change tool, before you roll out your new products and it upsets people  Smiley  its an accident waiting to happen.
CJA
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,149
Thanks: 555
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Upgrade process for and older account.

When I changed from a legacy product to a current one a couple of years ago I was told using the Product Change link would automatically keep benefits - and it did. From Plusnet comments in this thread it would seem this is no longer the case.  Sad
David