cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update profile for ADSL2+

mazadillon
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 12-07-2008

Update profile for ADSL2+

I've recently been upgraded to ADSL2+ here's my line stats:
DSL Modulation Mode G992_5_A (ADSL2+)
DSL Path Mode Interleave
Downstream Rate 17115 kbps
Upstream Rate 440 kbps
Downstream Margin 5.3 dB
Upstream Margin 29.2 dB
Downstream Line Attenuation 25.2 dB
Upstream Line Attenuation 8.2 dB
Downstream Transmit Power 20.1 dB
Upstream Transmit Power 12.4 dB
I get about 14mb down on a speedtest so I guess that's not too far out?
However, I was hoping that I should get upload speeds of around 1mbit now?
Thanks
Matt Ford
Username: limend
7 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,554
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Quote
However, I was hoping that I should get upload speeds of around 1mbit now?

You need to request that your upstream be 'uncapped'. If one of the Digital Care team don't spot this and action it for you then either raise a 'ticket' or give the CSC a call asking for it to be uncapped.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Hi mazadillon,
I've placed a modify order to uncap your upstream, it will complete tomorrow. Let me know how you get on.
Chris
mazadillon
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 12-07-2008

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Thanks, do I need to reset my router or should it 'just work'?
Also can someone confirm that the download speed is about right for those line stats?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Hi there,
Your router should resync automatically I believe, though if it hasn't disconnect via the interface then unplug it for a few minutes then plug it back in and turn it on and that should sort it.
Your speed looks about right with those stats and may actually improve provided the line stays stable - do you ever see any blips in the connection?
mazadillon
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 12-07-2008

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Here's my speed test this morning, upload is better but download is worse! Hopefully the connection will stabilise over the next week or so.
JayG
Pro
Posts: 944
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

Have another look at your line stats now: it's possible  your router has re-synched at a bad time (usually the hours of darkness) and is now running a higher noise margin and hence at lower speed - try a "soft" disconnect via the router interface followed by rebooting during daylight hours to see if you get an improvement (my download speed didn't change to any significant extent when the ADSL2+ upload was uncapped.)
(You may have to reconnect manually after rebooting to restore the session.)
mazadillon
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 12-07-2008

Re: Update profile for ADSL2+

I rebooted my router yesterday and here's a speed test from this morning, I think I'm happy to live with this connection now (until FTTC arrives in probably 5 years time!)