cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Up my speed please

lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Up my speed please

Have been here before about this with regards to my IP profile.
Am still floating between 38-48MB. Why can't I have the higher which has shown a few times under test?
30 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Up my speed please

I've checked over your line and cannot see any issues, nothing is restricting your line from any higher speeds.
Do you have anything else connected to your master socket, any extensions at all?
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

I'm in the master socket. It was pre fitted when i moved in. Is there a way to check?
Yet my IP profile says otherwise.
Why can i not have the high
IP Profile for your line is - 48.12 Mbps - Download Speed 45.79 Mbps
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps - Upload Speed 7.33 Mbps
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

Okay i've taken what i think is the main socket off to look an it's a mess. It's not how i would normally expect too see it. The reason i think this is the main is the cable outside is within this location.
This sockets in in the hall by the front door and not being used
The socket that is being used is in the front room
All the cables in each socket are joined using some round plastic thing. The socket my FTTC is on looks like cables have been added into it!
Also Chris my open reach modem is roasting, like mega mega hot to the touch. Is it worth me getting photos of the sockets and the mess behind them?
It's a new build, were the 2nd owner of it but it's only 5 years old. All the wiring looks original
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Up my speed please

One concern if your modem is extremely hot, do you know which make of modem you have?(You can check underneath the modem)
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

Huawei EchoLife HG612 2B
Will plusnet post the shotgun so i can blow it apart!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Up my speed please

I've created a ticket(#83803161) on your account to arrange getting a replacement modem. You can view this here.
Our faults team will be in-touch to arrange this.
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

What's the replacement?
Will they look at this wiring as well and sort it out? They can move it if they need too?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Up my speed please

I've flagged this with our faults team also.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Up my speed please

@ lisapetewright - Did you have the modem replaced a few months ago? Or is it the same one from before?
If it's already been replaced a few months ago and is overheating again, then something isn't right.
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

Quote from: Chris
I've flagged this with our faults team also.

Thanks Chris, work block the ticket so will check when home but they can call my mobile
Quote from: AndyH
@ lisapetewright - Did you have the modem replaced a few months ago? Or is it the same one from before?
If it's already been replaced a few months ago and is overheating again, then something isn't right.

Nah still same one. I'm not a fan of OP/BT in my house but have to this time
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

So the waiting game for BT OR/Kelly or who ever else they send begins
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

No phone call yet.....
lisapetewright
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 08-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

Not happy nor impressed. Bloke was a tool, defo needs tons of Prozac
After asking him to fit a new modem he finally did. A B-FOCuS V-2FUb/I Rev.B has been fitted.
He was unable to run any trace routes and has gone to the cab.
Said something about my line being to long with 20db on there.
Testing at the cab has shown no faults, stuck at 48 mb
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Up my speed please

my impacted range is 70-41,  however I only get 48-50mb. Looking at the impacted side of things on yours the impacted range is between 55-31mb.
So you are possibly getting the best speed for the length of line. Also depends on line quality  Smiley