cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uncapping upload

chrish16
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 09-09-2011

Uncapping upload

Hi
I have just had my broadband activated.  My upload is capped at 448kbps and i believe this can be uncapped?  What will it go to uncapped or does it depend on the line length also?
I have a router that i can manually set the SNR.  Does this cause a problem doing this whilst in the BT training period?  Is it better to use my router or get plus net to set the SNR?

Regards
24 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Uncapping upload

Hi chrish16,
I can place the order to uncap the upstream, this normally goes through in 24 hours. I wouldn't advise tweaking the SNR in your training period though.
Jojo Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Uncapping upload

Hi chrish16,
Order's placed now. I've sent you a confirmation email.
Jojo Smiley
xyfer117
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: Uncapping upload

Whats this about upload becoming uncapped? Is it something that happens automatically or do I have to request it? And how do I know if mine is capped?
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,777
Thanks: 1,401
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Uncapping upload

YUP you need to ask for your upload to be uncapped ,, just raise a question  Wink
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

Note: the upload uncapping is only available on ADSL2+
If you upload speed is below 448Kbs you are capped.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

Faster upload is available for people still on 20CN - it's just that it's not free! Link
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
xyfer117
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: Uncapping upload

Thanks for the responses everyone, I was hoping it would be free Sad
Oh well.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

When is 21CN due at your exchange?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

It is free as long as you're not on the 20CN network (up to 8Mb only). However you're on the 21CN network so I'll go and request it uncapped for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
xyfer117
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: Uncapping upload

Thanks!!!!!!  Grin
Edit: Will I be notified when it is uncapped or will it just happen?
dick:quote
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

Hi there,
There's a ticket on the account that should notify you when the order's done, though you won't need to do anything - the router will pick up the uncapped upload automatically Smiley
xyfer117
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: Uncapping upload

Ok, thanks  Smiley
Thanks for the help everyone!
dick:quote
chrish16
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 09-09-2011

Re: Uncapping upload

Quote from: Joanne
Hi chrish16,
I can place the order to uncap the upstream, this normally goes through in 24 hours. I wouldn't advise tweaking the SNR in your training period though.
Jojo Smiley

Hi jojo
I'm using my router that i had with my previous ISP on LLU, and i had it lower the SNR.  I have connected this router with Plus net and only changed the username and password for ADSL.  If i change the SNR now it will make a dramatic change in sync speed and I'm worried this will really confuse BT's profiling and mess my line profile up.  It seems fine at the moment.  I can post line stats later this evening.
I get around 7.2Mbps on download testers and i sync at around 8026kbps and my SNR around 3.5 to 4 db down
My line profile on BT speedtester was 7150kbps i think
Do this sound right?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Uncapping upload

Hi Chris,
That's about as good as an up to 8Mb line will get Smiley I'd leave it as it is to be honest.