cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to report fault

Tired
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2019

Unable to report fault

I have been tying to report a fault but the system doesn't seem to be working. I haven't been able to get online for a few days now. The phone lines are constantly busy and I can't get through. Can anyone advise me on what to do?
9 REPLIES 9
Gel
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,339
Thanks: 300
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Unable to report fault

Tired
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2019

Re: Unable to report fault

Thanks for replying!

Currently the Broadband Fault Reporting and the chat services are unavailable. I also went through the Broadband Connection Troubleshooter but it didn't help. My connection has been extremely slow recently and keeps dropping, so I called the helpline and run some tests - the router was deemed to be faulty. I received new router, cables and filter from Plusnet yesterday but I keep having the same problems.

I am still unable to get in touch with anyone on the phone.

I wonder if there is a way to raise a ticket to the Faults team through this forum?

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 2,032
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Unable to report fault

Hi @Tired,

 

I'm sorry that your new router hasn't resolved the connection problem and for the difficulty that you've had getting through to an advisor to report this.

 

I've reopened the fault ticket on your account and the next step is to arrange an engineer visit so that this may be investigated further. Please can you reply to the ticket here with your availability for an engineer? If you get back in touch on here once you've done this we'll pick this back up and get your engineer booked for the earliest available suitable appointment slot.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
Tired
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2019

Re: Unable to report fault

Hi Emily, thanks for your reply.

I am not clear on why I will likely be charged for the engineer visit. The equipment is brand new so I exclude it is faulty and there have been no building or garden works in the vicinity, so I expect no fault will be found - which means I will have to pay 65£ on top of the monthly fee, for a malfunctioning service!

When I called earlier this week I was told the problem could be fixed by installing a new router, so I renewed my contract in order not to be charged for that. If I knew this was not the cause, I would have likely moved to another broadband provider! 

 

 

 

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Unable to report fault

Thanks for getting back to us.

Sorry for any concern caused by a possible call out charge.

As we can see your connection is dropping it's unlikely the engineer will find no fault with your service, however if that was to happen and thing remained the same then we'll likely simply arrange another engineer to investigate further.

Engineer charges aren't something we take lightly and we review these within 90 days following a fault investigation closing. We will only apply a call out charge to your account if absolutely valid. 

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Tired
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2019

Re: Unable to report fault

Hi Gandalf, thank you for clarifying that. The engineer visit has been booked for tomorrow morning! Hopefully they'll find out what causes the problem. Thanks everyone for helping!
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Unable to report fault

No problem.

Fingers crossed! Let us know how it goes.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Tired
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2019

Re: Unable to report fault

Thanks! The engineer came by earlier today and was able to fix a line fault - my connection is now stable but still extremely slow (around 0.2 mbps!) I'm now waiting to hear back from the Faults team. 

Optimatts
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 442
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎25-09-2018

Re: Unable to report fault

Hi @Tired, thanks for confirming everything has been cleared by the engineer. I've reset your line following the visit as it's likely your connection was banded as a result of the fault.

Effectively, the line management settings sacrifice speed in favour of stability. Without the connection issue being resolved, DLM will keep dropping your speeds.

In time this would normally adjust itself now that your line is stable but the reset should speed things up for you.

I've updated your fault ticket HERE with further details.

Should you need anything further, please feel free to get back in touch.