cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to disable TR69

DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Unable to disable TR69


I've been trying to disable TR69 via https://portal.plus.net/automatic_hardware_setup/index.php and keep getting the following error
Quote
Oops! That didn't work.
It looks like a system error has stopped us from updating your selection. Sorry about that!
Please come back later and give it another go.

Could one of the DCT please take a look, as i'm trying to config my tg582n for the  IPv6 trial
TIA
10 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,005
Thanks: 273
Fixes: 4
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Unable to disable TR69

We'll have a look.
I suspect it will be fine though because autoset up will only happen on a factory reset, so it shouldn't interfere.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,531
Thanks: 769
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unable to disable TR69

I tried to change the login for the trial and the router kept changing it back. It was only when I went through the steps DaveyH is trying to do that I succeeded. I suspect he's following my notes.
If you remove his router from the TR069 database I suspect he'll be OK.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Unable to disable TR69

That's just it.
It's been sat in a cupboard for a year, so decided to flash the latest f/w, but the upgrade kept failing so had to do a factory reset.

Thanks for taking a look
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Unable to disable TR69

Quote from: jelv
I tried to change the login for the trial and the router kept changing it back. It was only when I went through the steps DaveyH is trying to do that I succeeded. I suspect he's following my notes.

You guessed it!
I am indeed following your notes, and TR69 keeps changing the trial login.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 291
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Unable to disable TR69

As this is a trial, has anyone tried, or indeed does Plusnet have the capability, to use TR69 to remotely configure IPv4 + IPv6 on customers existing routers ?
If not, perhaps it is something else that needs testing ?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Unable to disable TR69

DaveyH - I've disabled the TR-069 updates on your router so it shouldn't change it back now. Didn't really think about this happening but if it does for anyone else we can turn it off too. In the staff trial we tested applying the 10.x.x.x firmware via TR-069 to a router on 8.x.x.x, we tested applying the config to enable IPv6 and we tested changing the username to an IPv6 username and those changes all worked but of course this was done on a router that wasn't already signed to a different user which is where the complication has come from.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,531
Thanks: 769
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unable to disable TR69

DaveyH
Have you had more than one router from Plusnet?
I did initially have trouble disabling the automatic setup through the portal. However when I swapped the router to the latest one I'd received from them it worked.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Unable to disable TR69

Quote from: jelv
DaveyH
Have you had more than one router from Plusnet?

Nope.
It's the original and only router i've had from PN, from when i signed up last Oct/Nov, and only used for first few weeks before I replaced it with the TP-Link because of its poor WiFi.
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Unable to disable TR69

Quote from: dave
DaveyH - I've disabled the TR-069 updates on your router so it shouldn't change it back now.

Many thanks.
MJN
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-08-2010

Re: Unable to disable TR69

In case anyone needs to do this themselves the following will disable remote config and firmware updates respectively on Thomson routers:
service system modify name=CWMP-S state=disabled
service system modify name=CWMP-C state=disabled
saveall