cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect with plusnet

calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Unable to connect with plusnet

Good morning
After many years of waiting for fibre to come to our village in Lincolnshire I was able to order earlier this month and an engineer (kelly communications I think) turned up late friday afternoon. He fitted a new plate downstairs and a data extension upstairs, then went to the cabinet to do his stuff there.
He came back and plugged in the openreach router switched on and it synced ok, he did not do any further testing, he asked me to connect up to the internet and I was unable to get any connection to which he replied the fibre network is down in this area and there was nothing he could do as far as he was concerned the openreach router had synced was ok and left.
I didn't request a plusnet router as i had my own, A linksys e2000 and a billion 7800 i had researched before hand and both could be used and could be set up easily.
A couple of calls on friday to tech support informed me the service was on and no problems with the line, also went through the settings with me and also tried using a laptop directly to the openreach modem all failed to connect.
The Linksys gave no error message
the Laptop just said error on trying to connect
I have had a look at the sys log on the billion and here is what it says
PPP: Start to connect
Couldn't get channel number. Transport endport is not connected.
PPP: PPP server no response.
There is a ticket open for this 89117309 but nothing seems to be happening
Is there anything that can be done? we have a couple of online gamers in the house who are getting withdrawal symptoms Tongue
Thanks for you time
Cal
17 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Cal,
When you're setting up your router, are you using the following format:
Username: username@plusdsl.net
Password: Password used for Member Centre
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Chris
I setup as PPPoe, username@plusdsl.net and using the same password as I use to log on to the Member centre
Cal
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Are you able to connect directly to the Openreach Modem
calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Oldjim
Yes I have lights on the openreach router and my router saying they are connected also tried different network cables
I have a hardwired network in my house and both routers were in use up till the change over on friday.
I set up and tried both routers seperately and did a factory reset on both routers and set them up again with no luck
the laptop was connected directly to the openreach modem and I setup a pppoe connection as directed by tech support with the same result
Cal
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Thanks for that Cal.
We'll ensure that your Fault Ticket gets picked up as quickly as we can.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Another day still no internet and nothing heard.
On a side note my daughter who lives a few miles away is in the same position as me, she was changed over on friday afternoon by a different kelly engineer and she has had no internet since, same problem router has synced unable to connect to plusnet.
she has been told no engineer untill the 8th Aug which we both think is a bit of a joke, at least she has someone coming out i dread to think how long i will have to wait.
Something seems very strange here.
I assume when the modems sync they sync to the exchange or is it the cabinet?
Cal
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Cal,
When the modem syncs, they sync to the Cabinet on Fibre.
Can you please advise on your availability for an engineer to visit?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi chris
Thanks for replying so quick
There can be someone at the house any day.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Cal,
Thanks for that, I've progressed the ticket. You'll next hear back from us once we've booked you the next available engineer visit.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Can I pre-book an engineer? I've got my fibre install tomorrow and one of my collegue/neighbours/fellow plusnetters was switched over on Monday and is having exactly this issue after being installed by a BTOr-subcontractor.
I have little faith my install will actually go correctly.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Unfortunately not, we can't raise a fault against an asset until the order for that particular asset has completed.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
calbliss
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎24-06-2012

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Hi Chris
Thanks for that i hope it isnt to long.
I have my own vdsl modem now a Billion BiPAC 8800NL so i can at least check what iam connected at, looking good atm 57 down 11 up
I also carried out a TAM test and this failed at the first part.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

Quote from: avatastic
I have little faith my install will actually go correctly.

It turns out my exchange isn't ready, despite accepting orders. I've poked Adam on twitter, but in case he misses it, can someone cancel 88752954.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Unable to connect with plusnet

@avatastic - I've just passed the message onto Adam.
@calbliss - Ticket updated and engineer booked for Thursday morning between 8am-1pm.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer