cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

Phaeton
Rising Star
Posts: 128
Thanks: 36
Registered: ‎26-06-2007

Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

I can access https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via my Vodafone 4G network, but not via my Plusnet network, can't even ping the site. Haven't got time to wait 45 minutes on the phone for somebody to answer, so can somebody else see if they can reach the site from Plusnet please

14 REPLIES 14
Anoush
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 572
Fixes: 139
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

Works fine for me. When did you try to call and wait 45 minutes? We’ve not had this long a queue in so long.

What does a traceroute say?

Also have you rebooted your router?

This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
pvmb
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 587
Thanks: 71
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

Interesting! It fails for me too. Also, when I ping it the DNS returns an IP address but ping immediately fails with a timeout. What does this mean?

 

Tracing route to www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk [185.90.33.135]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 9 ms 11 ms 253.core.plus.net [195.166.130.253]
3 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 84.93.253.111
4 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 195.99.125.138
5 9 ms 8 ms 10 ms core5-hu0-3-0-26.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.140]
6 10 ms 9 ms 8 ms acc4-te0-0-0-23.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [194.72.16.32]
7 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms ftip003406298-ms-lb.acc4.faraday.21cn-nte.bt.net [62.172.39.125]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
etc.

BREAK

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,899
Thanks: 5,004
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

I can access, ping and trace to the site:-

~$ traceroute -I www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk
traceroute to www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk (185.90.33.135), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  home.gateway (192.168.1.254)  4.406 ms  4.385 ms  4.380 ms
 2  172.16.17.177 (172.16.17.177)  4.585 ms  4.579 ms  4.573 ms
 3  * * *
 4  132.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk (195.166.143.132)  15.101 ms  15.096 ms  15.090 ms
 5  core6-hu0-4-0-15.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.252.138)  9.226 ms  9.220 ms  9.215 ms
 6  acc4-te0-0-0-11.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (194.72.16.36)  9.207 ms  8.849 ms  8.823 ms
 7  ftip003406298-ms-lb.acc4.faraday.21cn-nte.bt.net (62.172.39.125)  13.157 ms  9.696 ms  9.673 ms
 8  185.90.32.254 (185.90.32.254)  15.051 ms  15.047 ms  15.044 ms
 9  185.90.33.135 (185.90.33.135)  14.741 ms  15.035 ms  14.733 ms

@pvmb & @Phaeton - you are both currently assigned IP addresses from a similar range. Could it be that the site you're trying to access doesn't like them for some reason? 🤔

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Phaeton
Rising Star
Posts: 128
Thanks: 36
Registered: ‎26-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

TBH I didn't try as the last 4 times I have attempted it they were around that time, so didn't bother on this occasion, but there does appear to be a problem as I still cannot access it.

$ traceroute -I www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk
traceroute to www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk (185.90.33.135), 64 hops max
1 192.168.178.1 0.691ms 0.630ms 0.625ms
2 195.166.130.250 9.411ms 9.092ms 8.980ms
3 84.93.253.87 10.030ms 9.608ms 9.702ms
4 195.99.125.144 9.998ms 9.508ms 9.342ms
5 109.159.252.134 10.428ms 11.097ms 10.042ms
6 109.159.249.189 10.746ms 10.368ms 10.403ms
7 62.172.39.125 12.709ms 12.523ms 12.188ms
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * ^C

 

 

pvmb
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 587
Thanks: 71
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet


@bobpullen wrote:

@pvmb & @Phaeton - you are both currently assigned IP addresses from a similar range. Could it be that the site you're trying to access doesn't like them for some reason? 🤔


How do you know? I am on a fixed IP, for reasons unknown, if that helps.

I wonder... One reason I came across many years ago, of a site we couldn't reach at work, was that the other site had half hitched our site's legal IP address for themselves. Consequently, our packets could reach them but then couldn't escape from their site to return to us, as their end's router considered them to be destined for their network. So, for us, their site was an IP black hole.

But in this case the destination's external IP address [185.90.33.135] appears not to be the same as my originating external fixed IP address. So...

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,899
Thanks: 5,004
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet


@pvmb wrote:

@bobpullen wrote:

@pvmb & @Phaeton - you are both currently assigned IP addresses from a similar range. Could it be that the site you're trying to access doesn't like them for some reason? 🤔


How do you know?


I have admin access to this forum, I can see the IP address you're both posting from Wink

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Phaeton
Rising Star
Posts: 128
Thanks: 36
Registered: ‎26-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

But whose issue is it?

Is it Plusnet's for not being able to route the request?

Is it the remote site for not having their Domain records up to date?

 

I can access the site if I tether my laptop to my Vodafone sim, so logically a Plusnet issue?

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,899
Thanks: 5,004
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

There seems to be nothing wrong with the site's DNS. Both you and I are resolving it to the same IP address.

As to where the problem lies, it's likely to be at the site's side. Your traceroutes die at the point mine hit the destination site's architecture.

It would be worth contacting the owner of the site if you can and explain that you are struggling to access it from your IP address; see if they can see the traffic reaching them - and if they can, what is blocking it.

There is a possibility that there's a routing issue at our side, but the next logical step would be to find out what the source sees.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,647
Thanks: 1,239
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

traceroute takes me to the site,

traceroute -I www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk
traceroute to www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk (185.90.33.135), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 dsldevice.lan (192.168.1.254) 1.420 ms 14.986 ms 14.917 ms
2 195.166.130.255 (195.166.130.255) 15.907 ms 15.853 ms 16.004 ms
3 84.93.253.127 (84.93.253.127) 16.918 ms 17.483 ms 17.870 ms
4 195.99.125.138 (195.99.125.138) 18.302 ms 19.134 ms 19.516 ms
5 core5-hu0-4-0-26.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.252.144) 20.192 ms 21.271 ms 21.637 ms
6 acc4-te0-1-0-1.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.255.214) 23.007 ms 10.256 ms 16.312 ms
7 ftip003406298-ms-lb.acc4.faraday.21cn-nte.bt.net (62.172.39.125) 16.642 ms 18.666 ms 18.780 ms
8 185.90.32.254 (185.90.32.254) 18.874 ms 19.009 ms 20.139 ms
9 185.90.33.135 (185.90.33.135) 20.758 ms 21.115 ms 21.522 ms

be interesting if you can ping either 185.90.32.254 or 185.90.33.135 as I get a reply.

with two terminal sessions open on a linux box try these commands

Session one

telnet www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk 443 or telnet www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk 80

This should open a session on port 443 (https) or port 80 (http)

Session two

netstat -t 1 |grep 185.90.33.135

this should report 185.90.33.135:https ESTABLISHED  or 185.90.33.135:http ESTABLISHED

Anything other that ESTABLISHED then you have a problem,  SYN_SENT is not good.

 

Dan.

 

 

pvmb
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 587
Thanks: 71
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

I cannot ping either 185.90.32.254 or 185.90.33.135 

OK, I'm going for broke: Internally on their network they are using the same IP address range as the people on Plusnet who can't contact them, so sent packets are never returned via their router. Externally they may present another IP address. (Same as Plusnet's users all using the same address range internally, but a unique address externally)

It's a black hole.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,647
Thanks: 1,239
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

www.diarypanelreview.co.uk should be advised of the issue for the reasons bob gave.

For the OP I would expect using a VPN will bypass this issue, try using a browser VPN plugin. Windscribe comes to mind.

Dan.

 

 

 

Phaeton
Rising Star
Posts: 128
Thanks: 36
Registered: ‎26-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

Session 1

$ telnet www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk 443
Trying 185.90.33.135...

 

Session 2

$ netstat -t 1 |grep 185.90.33.135
tcp 0 1 Phaeton-1:46780 185.90.33.135:https SYN_SENT

 

So falls into the Realms of Not Good

Phaeton
Rising Star
Posts: 128
Thanks: 36
Registered: ‎26-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

They have been advised, just got an autoresponder back & no human, but it's all funded by taxpayer money (I believe) so I suppose I shouldn't be surprised if doesn't work

 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,647
Thanks: 1,239
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Unable to connect to https://www.diarypanelrewards.co.uk/ via Plusnet

Using a windows command prompt I see

TCP    192.168.1.106:64617    185.90.33.135:443      ESTABLISHED

The reason behind my statement 'not good' is someone has to look into a connection issue, could be firewall unlikely as 443 must be open as no one could connect or possible routing issue.

someone could be BT/Plusnet or network support at the web site provider, getting someone to take responsibility could be difficult.

Dan