cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with America

Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Trouble with America

Hi All, we are having a problem with my wife's website hosting. The hosts are situated in Atlanta, USA. I have been onto  the Atlanta government  website without a problem we can also reach lots of other websites here and overseas. But at about 1pm here, until around 6pm, we cannot connect to the website admin, hosting admin and the hosts website.
Yesterdays Traceroute:
Tracing route to uplink0-sc16.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    3 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    14 ms    18 ms    24 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.197]
  3    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  link-b-central10.ptw-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.154]
  4    13 ms    12 ms    12 ms  246.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.246]
  5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  6  102 ms  102 ms  102 ms  gnax.ge2-13.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.130]
  7  103 ms  103 ms  102 ms  atl-core-a-g3-1.gnax.net [63.247.69.177]
  8  103 ms  103 ms  102 ms  uplink0-sc16.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.1]
Trace complete.
Todays Traceroute:
Tracing route to uplink0-sc16.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    19 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    16 ms    14 ms    15 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.192]
  3    14 ms    14 ms    15 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.138]
  4    13 ms    14 ms    13 ms  110.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.110]
  5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  6  194 ms  198 ms  198 ms  gnax.ge2-13.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.130]
  7  123 ms  106 ms  106 ms  atl-core-a-g3-1.gnax.net [63.247.69.177]
  8  107 ms  106 ms  107 ms  uplink0-sc16.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.1]
Trace complete.
#####################################################################
Can anybody shed some light, as i am stumped.
Regards
Steve
17 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Trouble with America

have you checked with the hosting company via their support system to see whether they had problems
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

yes oldjim, he was the one who suggested the traceroute. We had to communicate on twitterSmiley He went into some geeky chat, which went straight over my head. I was hoping someone could simplify.
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

To me the traceroutes say say that between the outgoing gatway and the recieving american gateway there is no response for 184ms? Maybe it has to get checked by border controlSmiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Trouble with America

is that a one off occurrence or does it happen every day
Have you tried a traceroute when it is working and compared to when it isn't
The jump in latency is only that the server takes a long time to respond although I don't understand the intermediate timeout as setting the timeout to 10,000ms doesn't help - I assume it just isn't responding
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

Its very intermittent  and started Wednesday i think. No i haven't compared good time and bad time yet.
Anybody know how to repeat a tracert, just looked at the switches and there doesn't seem to be one for repeating. Or should i try a ping for a while.
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

If anybody is outside of the plusnet network. Could they try the link in signature and report back.
thanks.
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Trouble with America

Have you checked with NSA & GCHQ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Trouble with America

Link works fine - from Plusnet - however a second try just stalls
This is the tracert to the site - looks bad
C:\Users\Jim>tracert www.purrsinourhearts.co.uk
Tracing route to www.purrsinourhearts.co.uk [64.22.68.2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    24 ms    99 ms    99 ms  192.168.1.254
  2  114 ms    37 ms    35 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net [195.166.128.187]
  3    35 ms    33 ms    33 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.180]
  4    32 ms    33 ms    40 ms  212.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.212]
  5    33 ms    34 ms    32 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6  106 ms  111 ms    *    te7-5.br03.ldn01.pccwbtn.net [195.66.224.167]
  7    *      200 ms    *    gnax.ge2-13.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.130]
  8    *      200 ms    *    atl-core-a-g3-1.gnax.net [63.247.69.177]
  9    *        *      202 ms  l3-atl-18.gnax.net [209.51.131.74]
10  196 ms    *        *    image.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.2]
11    *        *        *    Request timed out.
12    *        *      203 ms  image.apisnetworks.com [64.22.68.2]
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

vilefoxdemonofdoom: LOL i was thinking the same after watching the hacking documentary the other day. Stuxnet .
DISCLAIMER i am not implying or have any knowledge that either NSA & GCHQ have anything to do with the before said virus. Crazy JUST in case they are watching me.
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

212.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.212] does the 212 mean its a different gateway to the one we are connected to?
because we are not getting these hops.

ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
te7-5.br03.ldn01.pccwbtn.net [195.66.224.167]
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Trouble with America

I get
Quote
jeremy@HECTOR:~$ traceroute  www.purrsinourhearts.co.uk
traceroute to www.purrsinourhearts.co.uk (64.22.68.2), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  ROUTER (192.168.1.1)  1.896 ms  1.856 ms  1.828 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptn-ag03.plus.net (195.166.128.192)  37.461 ms  37.466 ms  37.972 ms
3  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net (212.159.2.138)  37.948 ms  38.537 ms  38.513 ms
4  110.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.110)  39.397 ms  39.373 ms  39.349 ms
5  te13-4.br02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net (195.66.236.167)  39.928 ms  39.891 ms  40.480 ms
6  gnax.ge2-13.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net (63.216.31.130)  145.464 ms  143.806 ms  144.563 ms
7  atl-core-a-g3-1.gnax.net (63.247.69.177)  144.544 ms  105.368 ms  107.844 ms
8  l3-atl-18.gnax.net (209.51.131.74)  105.550 ms  107.831 ms  110.029 ms
9  image.apisnetworks.com (64.22.68.2)  110.831 ms  113.328 ms  115.555 ms

Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

On of the answers we got from the hosting man:
Actually a sustained traceroute is showing packet loss on the nlayer route, which connects to the data center network. Escalated a ticket with the NOC, and let's see where this goes.
Huh Huh Huh
Chapster
Grafter
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Trouble with America

Another:
Got a response back from the DC. It appears this is expected:
I have performed a long-run test across the link you have indicated and confirmed 0% packet loss across 100,000 packets.
The traceroute you have provided indicates that there is no packet loss on the hops beyond this hop.  This indicates that traffic is passing through the hop without interruption, and only direct responses for the hop were stopped.  This behavior is typically due to security configuration on the router hop in question that limits the rate of TTL expiry messages for CPU protection, preventing some direct responses to tests like traceroute packets while not interfering with normal traffic.

At this point, I'd check your home network by bypassing the router or trying another device to see if that resolves the issue.
Huh Huh
me  again:
The routers the bog standard fcc bog standard connection and why would it be our end when we can visit lots of other sites , without problems.
kjpetrie
Rising Star
Posts: 136
Thanks: 21
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-12-2010

Re: Trouble with America

There's something very odd going on here at the hosting end. Your site has a static IP (64.22.68.2) but the previous machine (the one you have difficulty with) is using dynamic IP or the actual machine keeps changing (perhaps a load-balancing arrangement). You and I have it as 64.22.68.1 but in vilefoxdemonofdoom's trace it appeared as 209.51.131.74!
I would guess one of those machines at that location is misbehaving. If you can always view www.purrsinourhearts.co.uk you can always reach the previous machine, since you are going through it to reach your own site.
I think the problem is at your host's site, not en-route.