cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too Slow for YouView

Matt53
Dabbler

Too Slow for YouView

I was with TalkTalk/Tiscali for many years but recently I appear to have made a big mistake by migrating to Plusnet.
I have now had my broadband connected with Plusnet for 18 days and the speed I'm getting is ridiculously slow compared to TalkTalk.
With TalkTalk I got speeds between 1.8 & 2.1  but now I'm only getting around 1.2Mb/s if I'm lucky.
I have a YouView box and was able to use it to watch on demand TV such as 4OD and iplayer,  but not any more !
I have tried two other routers but the speeds are just the same, I've also removed the face-plate from the BT socket and plugged the router in directly, but still the same slow speed.
Please don't expect me to go through the same rigmarole that other poor sods with the same problem have had to on here.
I'm no engineer, I'm a simple customer who expects to get the service I'm paying for, ie. the same speeds that I got with TalkTalk.
Is it perhaps the case that BT/Plusnet equipment is not as good as TalkTalk's ?
Matt
42 REPLIES 42
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Too Slow for YouView

Quote from: Matt53
Is it perhaps the case that BT/Plusnet equipment is not as good as TalkTalk's
It is certainly the case that the equipment is different, it will also act differently (and in different timescales) to errors/interference.
As you have a long line interference is more likely to be a factor, but not necessarily so.
How different the equipment is depends on your exchange, which one are you on?
tony8436
Grafter