cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timeout waiting for PADO packets

FIXED
Highlighted
Timmymac
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Timeout waiting for PADO packets

HI all,

 

I appreciate there are a few of these threads but none seem to lead anywhere in particular.

 

I've got an TP-Link Archer C7, which I suppose is a cable router - it doesn't have an integrated ADSL modem. I've got the WAN port of this device connected to a TP-Link 8616 ADSL bridge modem using PPPoE.

 

I've been (back) with Plusnet about a month and this setup has worked fine up until the last few days. It's been flaky since about Thursday and I now haven't been able to get connected at all for about 36 hours. This is with no change to the setup here.

 

Unfortunately, I've now introduced an additional 'unknown' by installing OpenWRT on the Archer C7. I don't think this will cloud the picture too much because it's giving the same error messages as it did with the stock firmware:

 

Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 kern.info kernel: [ 777.993163] eth0: link up (1000Mbps/Full duplex)
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is enabled
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is setting up now
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.err insmod: module is already loaded - slhc
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.err insmod: module is already loaded - ppp_generic
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.err insmod: module is already loaded - pppox
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.err insmod: module is already loaded - pppoe
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.info pppd[5840]: Plugin rp-pppoe.so loaded.
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.info pppd[5840]: RP-PPPoE plugin version 3.8p compiled against pppd 2.4.7
Sun Nov 11 09:28:00 2018 daemon.notice pppd[5840]: pppd 2.4.7 started by root, uid 0
Sun Nov 11 09:28:15 2018 daemon.warn pppd[5840]: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
Sun Nov 11 09:28:15 2018 daemon.err pppd[5840]: Unable to complete PPPoE Discovery
Sun Nov 11 09:28:15 2018 daemon.info pppd[5840]: Exit.

 

 

Any thoughts anyone?Huh

 

Thanks!

 

Tim

6 REPLIES
Timmymac
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

I've just plugged in an old TG582n which I think was, at some point, provided by Plusnet.

 

 

That's just throwing an auth failure even though I'm using timmymac@plusdsl.net and the password I just logged into the forum with.

 

 

There's a little diagnostic thing too, which would seem to tie in with the PADO timeout:

 

Screenshot 2018-11-11 at 13.56.01.png

Time to call support?  :-(

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,844
Thanks: 844
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

Fix

@Timmymac

The password to use is the one you need to log into the Member Centre. This forum and the Member Centre don't share usernames or passwords.

So that maybe an issue.

Timmymac
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

Doh..  I suppose someone has to be that person today!  I thought they were the same anyway but just checked if I could log in to members area and no. Caught out by the requirements for caps in one and not the other.

 

 

I'm online with the TG582n. Will just double check the other router/modem - if it's still not working, I'll consign one or both to the bin, unless anyone knows anything!

 

Tim

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,844
Thanks: 844
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

@Timmymac

Glad it was the simple. And thank you of being honest as lots of people wouldn't admit to it. Smiley

 

Timmymac
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

No prob..  It genuinely would have kept me offline longer if you hadn't said it.

 

As for the TP-Link junk..  it'll have to go in the bin. Still gives the PADO packets timeout.  How it can work one week and not the next, I don't know!

 

Tim

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,844
Thanks: 844
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Timeout waiting for PADO packets

Had an issue years ago when my favourite dlink box just starting rebooting for no obvious reason. I guess that 5 years of service just wore it out or some component overheated.

I've been running an Archer C5 for the past 4 years now so I hope it doesn't get the issue that yours had. Sad