cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Throughput Not Near Line Sync

DangerMouseUK
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 27-01-2015

Throughput Not Near Line Sync

Hi Guys,
Just got a Netgear D6300 (had a DSL-AC68U which was really bad).
Anyway on the Netgear the line sync shows as;

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 12063 kbps 1199 kbps
Line Attenuation 30.5 db 16.9 db
Noise Margin 5.9 db 6.2 db
But I can't get anymore than about 9mbit from speedtest.net or thinkbroadband.com speedtests - any ideas why ?
(even the 6x threaded test came back with just over 9mbit)
Thanks in advance !
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Throughput Not Near Line Sync

You should be getting a bit more than that wired
Given that you have just changed routers I wonder if the sync speed has increased and this hasn't updated https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Current Line Speed should be 10.6Mbps
DangerMouseUK
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: Throughput Not Near Line Sync

Hey yeah it shows 9.6
Why is it so low compared to 12000 sync ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Throughput Not Near Line Sync

The BT IP profile is sync x 0.882 so 10.64Mbps and Plusnet round it down to 10.6Mbps
It will probably change automatically over night
AndyT
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 08-08-2014

Re: Throughput Not Near Line Sync

Hi DangerMouseUK,
I've updated the profile to 10.6Mbps for you and you should notice the change taking effect within the next few minutes.  If your throughput doesn't increase, just try disconnecting and reconnecting via the router interface
Cheers