cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Throttling Easynews

dratddestroyer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: 27-09-2007

Throttling Easynews

Hello,
Why is Plusnet throttling Easynews.com connections?
I pay for 8 gig data transfer a month and expect a better service.
I use their NNTP service for their fantastic text group retention and their HTTP service to read the suppport board pages to try (I can't because plusnet are throttling) and help others.
I can only download headers from their NNTP service at 20K/sec if lucky.
If I have the wrong broadband package what should I be using to be able to get full transfer speeds? (I mean more than 200K/second even though my line supports 650k+/sec)
Cheers,
Drat.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Which product are you on?
If its BBYW the following product comparison on the link:pug site shows the different levels of shaping.
http://usergroup.plus.net/070920_bbywcomp3.php
Chilly
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Link to the same details on the protal;
PlusNet Portal BBYW product comparison
Chilly
dratddestroyer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: 27-09-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Thanks for the reply Chilly. I'm on BBYW oprion 2.
Well, I said I was only getting less than 20K/sec trying to get new headers for the groups I subscribe to.

The question still is:
Is PlusNet throttling connections to Easynews.com?

Let's have an honest answer from the Plusnet team....
(Hoping they are able to understand the question which can be simplified on request...)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Yes. Easynews counts as binary usenet.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

For a `clean` usenet you could upgrade to BBYW Pro;
http://www.plus.net/residential/broadband/bbyw_pro.shtml?WT.svl=home_bbywpro_ban
£5 per month more, and a extra 2GB.
Chilly
dratddestroyer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: 27-09-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Thanks Orbrey at Plusnet and Chilly for your replies.
Another question for Plusnet:
If I change from BBYW2 to BBYW Pro will I be able to use Easynews.com without throttling? ie sustained speeds of more than 200K (when my connection supports 650+K/sec)?

Drat.
cp:blue Full quote of preceding post removed mod:end
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Hi there,
Yes.  All of your traffic will be treated as either gold or titanium, giving you the fastest speeds available on our network for all protocols.
dratddestroyer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: 27-09-2007

Re: Throttling Easynews

Quote from: Jameseh
Hi there,
Yes.  All of your traffic will be treated as either gold or titanium, giving you the fastest speeds available on our network for all protocols.

Thanks for your reply Jamesh.
OK, I'll give BBYW Pro a go...
Drat.