cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

Minxymoo
Grafter
Posts: 138
Registered: 22-07-2009

Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

How do you active website filtering on the TG585 v7 as it is not on the toolbox menu?
Thanks
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

Hi there,
I'm not sure that feature is available on that router? I'll ask for you but I'm fairly sure that's the case. Sorry about that.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

In the Thomson manual, it shows it as a feature (maybe the PN firmware hasn't enabled it?):
Quote
Proceed as follows:
1 Browse to the Thomson Gateway Web
2 On the Toolbox menu, click Web Site Filtering.
3 On the Location bar, click Configure.
4 Make sure that the Use Address Based Filter check box is selected.
5 In the Action for Unknown Sites, select: Allow as the default rule if you want to allow access to sites may not be accessed. Block as the default rule if you want to deny access to web sites that may be accessed
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

Looking at the CLI manual for the TG585 v7 (I have s/w 8.2.6.5), there is a command sequence "dsd urlfilter" - which returns an error via telnet - though there is a "dsd intercept config" command which is not listed in the manual and also doesn't look as if it would help you Shocked Roll eyes
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

Looks like it's not enabled in the firmware, sorry about that. We can check to see if it will be in future revisions but I'm not sure it will be.
Minxymoo
Grafter
Posts: 138
Registered: 22-07-2009

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

OK thanks for looking hopefully you can add it to the next firmware.  Where do you post firmware updates by the way?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Thomson TG585 v7 Website filtering

The Technicolor models which do have URL filtering, when enabled it does tend to reduce browsing speed.
IMO if you wish to do web filtering you would be better to get a free opendns account.
The Technicolor router can be configured to use Opendns and update opendns of any IP change, for details see:
http://npr.me.uk/webfilter.html