cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thompson 585v8 and Apple iPhone remote! please help..

OutSpoken

Thompson 585v8 and Apple iPhone remote! please help..

Hi Guys, complete noob here...
OK ...I won't beat around the bush...
My issue is: I have an iPhone 4 and Macbook Pro.
I have downloaded the Apple remote app for iTunes 10.
I have a very strange problem: The remote app can't see my iTunes library via wifi unless I reset the router. Once the router is reset it will work flawlessly until I either disconnect for a long period of time or until the app is idle for a long period too (I think).
This problem also happens when I try to remote desktop from my iPhone using various software e.g SplashTop remote. The apps won't see my Mac unless I reset the router, again it gives me a message saying it could not reach my IP 192.XXX XXXX....etc
The weird thing is I have a strong WiFi connection on both my Mac and iPhone. Huh
I rang and spoke with a tech guy from PlusNet who said he's heard of the problem before, something to do with the iPhone possibly changing the channel Huh whatever that means... But I've checked the phones network settings but there doesnt seem to be anything that sticks out to me to switch off/on.
His only advice was to check the apple forum Roll_eyes I dunno, I sort of feel the problem lies with the router not the iPhone.

Please can someone offer some advice, just by searching around a bit I noticed there aren't many apple users on here...especially with this problem.

Cheers
6 REPLIES 6
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: Thompson 585v8 and Apple iPhone remote! please help..

Have you upgraded the firmware on the TG585v8 to the latest version 8.2.7.8? If yours is still 8.2.7.7 upgrading is likely to fix the wireless problem. The software and instructions are available here.
Unfortunately the flashing utility is only available for Windows PCs; do you have access to one of those?
David
OutSpoken