cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

I suspect I'm not doing something correctly, status says I've been transferred to Option 2 but speed seems to be the same. Can someone point me in the direction of what I need to do please. Here's the details from the router if they're any help. Username is Hardmuircroft

Revision Number: E.37.5.5
Serial Number: None
Local Tx Power: 11.5 dB
Remote Tx Power: 14.2 dB
Local Line Atten.: 44.0 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 27.5 dB
Local SNR Margin: 33.0 dB
Remote SNR Margin: 24.0 dB
Self Test: Passed
DSL Standard: T1.413
Profile: Main
Tx Line Rate: 288 Kbps
Rx Line Rate: 576 Kbps
Framing Structure: Framing-3
Trellis Coding: Enable
Power Management Mode: L2, L3 Both Allowed
12 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

You're still on a 512k static connection and your line stats look fine, as a result I've put a modify order through for you. This is due to complete  on Tuesday morning (unfortunately BT don't work over the weekend, and Monday is a bank holiday).
Hope this helps, please let us know on Tuesday if there isn't any change.
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Ah, thanks, I thought BBYW was just a branding of MAXADSL.
Should I opt into maxADSL then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Matt (orbrey) has already placed the order for you.
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

I was on the 512MB premium, I changed to BBYW Option 2, reasons were higher connection speeds (hopefully), lower cost and the 8GB limit is more than enough for me.
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Many thanks for the help guys. Smiley
The 8GB limit should easily do me, think my most in any month over the last 2 years  is about 4GB anyway.
pcoventry76
Grafter
Posts: 950
Registered: 27-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Don't forget too that usage between midnight and 8am does not count towards your 8GB
So any big downloads can be done then. Grin
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

looks like things have worked, thanks.
Download looks to be around 3000-3300 kbps and upload about 380 kbps. Over a mile from the exchange so I suspect that's about as good as it will get? Not complaining, just wondering what I can realistically expect Smiley
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Is this what you mean?
Up 448 Kbps Interleaved Down 4416 Kbps Interleaved
Or these?
Config Data Up Down
                  Intrlvd Fast  Intrlvd Fast 
AS0(kbps): - - 4416 0
AS1(kbps): - - 0 0
LS0(kbps): 448 0 - -
LS1(kbps): 0 0 - -
RValue: 16 0 16 0
SValue: 8 1
DValue: 4 32
Or this lot? Some of these seem to have changed a fair bit
Vendor ID: 00B5GSPN
Revision Number: E.37.5.5
Serial Number: None
Local Tx Power: 11.9 dB
Remote Tx Power: 19.0 dB
Local Line Atten.: 44.5 dB
Remote Line Atten.: 27.5 dB
Local SNR Margin: 6.0 dB
Remote SNR Margin: 19.0 dB
Self Test: Passed
DSL Standard: G.dmt
Profile: Main
Tx Line Rate: 448 Kbps
Rx Line Rate: 4416 Kbps
Framing Structure: Framing-3
Trellis Coding: Enable
Power Management Mode: L2, L3 Both Allowed
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

connected to the master socket via a 3metre (roughly) extension cable. Thinking about it it's probably about a mile and a half and then a half mile off the main road where the BT cable is so could be almost two miles total.
Certainly not complaining about the speed  Grin Just making sure I don't have an unrealistic expectation.
Thanks to everyone for all the help Smiley
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Hi there,
Eliminating the extension cable may cause a slight improvement in speeds.  You're currently on a 3500Kbps profile, which is currently appropriate for your connection speeds.
Try connecting directly to the master socket if possible (via filter) and I'll have another look Smiley
dod
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Sorry for delay in getting back. Connecting into main socket directly isn't really a practical option, it's in the lobby and doesn't lend itself to having the PC located there. Not really practical to locate the router there either and run a network cable so I'll have to accept it as it is.
One thing which has developed though is that while the ADSL connection appears to be reliable I seem to be losing connectivity somewhere. Four or five times a day the connection seems to go and to get things working I have to log into the router, run "diagnostics" and it regains the connection.
Are some routers better than others with MaxADSL?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Think I'm on MaxADSL, no speed change?

Because of the way that MaxDSL tries to push the boundaries of your ADSL connection, it's often important to ensure that you have optimal conditions for your connection.
The router is a possible cause of your intermittency, but I'd be inclined to blame the extension wiring.  Have you considered the prospect of using a wireless router?