cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

I have had continually poor speeds on my line for the last few months, but today sinking to 135Kbps max has taken the cake. I phoned in a month or so ago to fix my line when this happened the first time, and full speed was returned for that weekend, but then began to dip back to around 5Mbps max, with the recent couple of weeks dipping to 3.
I'm not sure if Plus.net are having some difficulty providing service this year, but I'm frankly getting incredibly frustrated with sub-par internet speed to the point where even watching 1 minute Youtube clips in HD has become a struggle.
I would kindly like someone to look into this matter, and ensure that the speed stays correct rather than dipping off bigtime again because I'm not unfortunately hounding someone about it every other weekend.
Stats from my  Thomson TG585 v7 to get the ball rolling:
DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:15:50
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 20,356 / 5,736
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 826 / 5,774
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 1.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.0 / 37.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 13.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 60
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 104,612 / 0
Down Bandwidth will often change any time I reset the router or re-insert the line, varying anywhere from 8000 to 1500. Up-times short because I was hoping a router reboot would solve it, but hasn't.
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Hi rachelconnor83,
I'm really sorry to see/hear that your connection has been of really poor quality Sad
I've taken a look at your line and can see that your router is dropping sync on a fairly regular basis (connection between the router and exchange). It's probably a large number of errors on your line which is causing it, perhaps there's a large spike during certain times.
In my opinion, we really need to get this looked at for you. Would you be able to raise a fault at http://faults.plus.net and I'll ensure this gets picked up by our Faults Team for you.
Here's a quick overview of some of the drops our systems have captured:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14025832031233.png"/>
There are a few more that can't be displayed though.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Raised a fault, even just tried plopping another microfilter on, but no better.
I have unplugged/plugged back in the router in a fair bit whenever this sort of drop in speed occurred in the hope it would randomly sync up at better speeds (the old "have you tried switching it off and on again hope") if thats an aspect to what you're seeing on your end, but as I've now discovered whatever the router is reporting as my max or even normal down bandwidth is most certainly not what I'm getting as right now its saying downstream of 7,645 when any speed-tester and real life uses are giving 1.4 at best.
This is probably the worst its ever been.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Thanks for reporting that. Our Faults Team will in touch once they have completed their initial investigation.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

After briefly enjoying a tick up to 5mbps this weekend,  getting a very temperamental 3mbs today with time-outs. A far cry still from the 7-8 my line is reported as being capable of.
Engineer is set to come out tomorrow to investigate, but since I can and do get faster speeds on the occasion, I still feel like its got to be something on Plus.nets end in the provision of service.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Quote
I still feel like its got to be something on Plus.nets end in the provision of service.

Hi, I'm pretty certain our faults guys (and Chris) will have checked the known points of failure for that (i.e us provisioning at the incorrect speeds or an incorrect speed profile) but I've checked these again to be on the safe side and can't see any issues.
I hope the engineer visit helps tomorrow. Please keep us posted.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,768
Thanks: 4,025
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Quote from: rachelconnor83
Uptime: 0 days, 0:15:50
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 20,356 / 5,736
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 826 / 5,774
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 1.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.0 / 37.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 13.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 60
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 104,612 / 0.

Chris,
Is the US data reported by the router indicative of a router fault or is this just an aberration of this router?  The US max bandwidth figure is just silly, whereas the US HEC count is massive for 15 minutes connection time.  Note the US transfer count is zero too.  On the DS side, the synch seems to be well slugged, but error free... Crazy
Kevin
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

That's a good spot, however, from my testing, we're seeing many more errors on the line than the previous line stats show as attached. I could of course be wrong, however, I don't think it's the router at fault.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

The 20mb "max" upstream thing has been confusing me certainly. Thats a recent development I think as I don't remember seeing it that out of whack before.
The HEC thing is I think a curiosity of the router as that number never resets, so is just some cumulative crazy total.
Awaiting the booked engineer for today right now.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,768
Thanks: 4,025
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Rachael,
Some TG routers seem inconsistent in resetting counters on new (warm) DSL / PPP sessions.  Sometime convenient, a cold (power down) restart would be useful to see if any of these odd ball figures get reset to something more representative of reality.
Kevin
rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

The time-honoured tradition of an engineer not actually turning up on that first appointment continues. Booked in "properly with BT this time" for tomorrow morning again.
Townman: by a cold power down, you mean "Restart my Thomson Gateway" in the menu, or something else?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

restart is fine - essentially that triggers a reboot
Normally the only thing which doesn't get reset on a resync is error secs
rachelconnor83
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Done. Pretty much the same:
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:09:28
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 20,014 / 4,148
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 832 / 4,023
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.5 / 37.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 9.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 208
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 118,036 / 41
Have been getting 4mb today, which is 'alright', but I know 7 is what my line can do at the least (although I do often wonder about when I got 10 when first moving into this area).
dragon2611
Grafter
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎20-10-2013

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

I'd ignore that Max Bandwidth calculation as it's way off, whoever programmed it cleared had no regard for the ADSL2+ specs as 20Mbit/s on the upstream is not possible, the theoretical max with Annex M is 3.5Mbit/s up and that's not even allowed in the UK, fastest you can go in the UK (Due to power/tone masking) on the upstream is around 2.5Mbit/s with annex M on a very short line.
Do you have any noise on the line when making voice calls, as the upstream is very close to the voice frequencies it's possible you might notice any problems with the line during a voice call.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,768
Thanks: 4,025
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Terrible 1Mbps speeds on a 10Mbps line

Quote from: Oldjim
restart is fine - essentially that triggers a reboot
Normally the only thing which doesn't get reset on a resync is error secs

Hi Jim,
I'd consider that a warm boot.  I have seen data transfer counters survive DSL / PPP session restarts.

Rachael,
By a cold restart, I mean a physical power down.
Those stars look worse - poorer attenuation, lower output power, slower synch at lower SNRM all suggest to me that things are not getting better.  Hope that tomorrow's appointment goes better.
Kevin