cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor router features

alterego
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 20-05-2009

Technicolor router features

Is there a manual for this? Alternatively, does anyone know if it's possible to restrict access from a linked (wireless) computer? My teenager needs a curfew, but it would be nice not to excommunicate the rest of the family at the same time.
I believe some net monitoring software can exchange this sort of info with some routers, but I'm not sure what feature(s) I should be looking for.
Any enlightenment appreciated.. :-)
12 REPLIES
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Technicolor router features

alterego
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 20-05-2009

Re: Technicolor router features

Thank you for the (very) quick reply. That command line manual looks a bit heavy for me (>1000 pages!) but I can't very well complain about TMI.. :-)
lowmans100
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 28-02-2014

Re: Technicolor router features

You can set times for specific devices in the router.
Home Network > Access Control
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,405
Thanks: 997
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Technicolor router features

Well if you can it isn't obvious
There isn't a heading Access Control
Dan_the_Van
Grafter
Posts: 296
Thanks: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Technicolor router features

For Access Control I believe you'll need firmware 10.2.2.B or above

Device Access Scheduler

This feature allows you to configure the times that specific devices can access the Internet through your Technicolor Gateway.
This can be used as a form of parental control.
Select device:    There is a drop down here
Any device that show in the format Unknown-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX are your devices that the Technicolor Gateway can not find the full name for, you can configure these manually here.
alterego
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 20-05-2009

Re: Technicolor router features

Many thanks for replies. Not sure I can find any scheduling, though - I get the attached config options via Home Network/Devices.
I'm sure it's in there somewhere...
alterego
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 20-05-2009

Re: Technicolor router features

Perhaps what I should be asking is how to update the firmware. Mine's only on version 8.4.4.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Technicolor router features

Follow the advice / links here & you can't go far wrong
http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/
alterego
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 20-05-2009

Re: Technicolor router features

Many thanks again. Device scheduling now available after the firmware upgrade. Cue slamming of bedroom doors! :-)
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Technicolor router features

You are welcome
Make sure you got a plentyful supply of ear plugs / defenders Wink
Let me know if you successfully manage to get this set up, as I have not tried it yet due to other issue(s) known in another thread
Daveodeth
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Technicolor router features

A quick question about the router, is it normal for the device to constantly ask me to login again every time I go to a new option.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Technicolor router features

Depends if you have left it for any length of time
IE: Going to make a brew
If not then no it should not ask you to repeatedly log in
Try a basic reset of the router (see if that helps)