cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

titan03018
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-06-2013

Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

I have some computers which are in different rooms to the router and I want to make sure they are getting the best possible connection. Running ethernet cables isn't an option so I have looked into powerline over the mains kits - they basically run an ethernet connection through your mains electricity. I am looking at getting the Devolo 500mbs kit (for example: http://www.maplin.co.uk/devolo-500mbps-powerline-triple-kit-with-pass-through-sockets-526452). Are there any known issues with incompatibility with the Technicolor TG582n router and BT fibre optic modem?
I previously had a very basic powerline over mains kit for my work computer (only up to 2mbs) but this hasn't worked since switching over to Plusnet. Hopefully the new kit will.
Any help or guidance is appreciated.
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

titan03018
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-06-2013

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

Hmm thanks for the link, very interesting. I certainly need them for one machine as it's barely able to get a wifi signal but I will see how I get on without them for the rest of the machines.
dick:quote
titan03018
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-06-2013

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

Just as an update my speeds have vastly improved with the powerline over mains kit. It's incredible.
I bought the Devolo 500mbs kit, a little pricey but absolutely worth the money. My work computer has gone from 1mbs to over 35mbs.
My two cents: powerline over mains is well worth it, if you're looking to boost your speed without ethernet cables everywhere!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,001
Thanks: 143
Fixes: 47
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

I like the look of the AV triple adapter, these could be a good solution for my home network (i.e router towards the front of the building with the desktop PC connected directly then powerline to the back where the living room is for my TV, Xbox and another PC http://www.morecomputers.com/extra.aspx?pn=1715&referer=Froogle1&gclid=CKHcgtWC87cCFajKtAodgisAsA
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
DougMa
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 09-09-2011

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

I went for the 4-port one here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005T12RWE
I chose this because it uses a simple 230V power cable with a regular moulded 3-pin plug on the end.  I found the powerline adapters a little too bulky and tricky to connect/disconnect the ports without unplugging the whole unit.
Doug
titan03018
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-06-2013

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

I thought I would update after a few days.
The powerline over mains kit is a dream come true. It has really maxed out my fibre optic speeds. I have also connected my WDTV Live media player to the network now and I am (for the first time) able to have a functioning media server.
In short, plusnets fibre optic combined with the powerline over mains kit (I went for the 500mbs kit) has fully optimised the connection.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n compatibility with powerline over the mains kit?

I'm not sure if buying standard Powerline and adding a separate switch might not be cheaper - e.g. http://www.ebuyer.com/259805-tp-link-tl-sg1005d-5-port-gigabit-switch-10-100-1000m-desktop-tl-sg1005...
If you went for a 10/100 switch it definitely would.
While looking around I also found http://www.ebuyer.com/169923-tenda-wireless-n150-access-point-router-extender-w311r- Stick that at the other end of a pair of homeplugs to get improved wireless and wired connectivity in another part of the house. Anyone any experience of them?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)