cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

sw4mpl0rd
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 24-03-2014

Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

Hi all,
I'm having issues with my Technicolor TG582n FTTC rebooting quite often. The connection drops, then the router reboots and can then take 5 - 10 mins to come back up again.
Has anyone experienced anything similar?
thanks
KC
6 REPLIES
Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 297
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

I sometimes see this issue when I cold boot a PC which has a wired connection to the TG582n. I'm on ADSL
I have several other more serious issues with this router but rather make a big fuss about it I've learnt to live with them.
Dan.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

Hi,
by reboot do you mean it loses power or that you have to power it off and back on again before it will reconnect?
Either way, it would be worth a factory reset of the router to see if that cures it: http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/technicolor-582n-faqs.shtml
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 297
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

with mine one of two things may happen.
1) Warm boot, Power LED stays on and other others go out, then recovers with no issues.
2) The internet LED goes red and stays red. Time out message can be seen in GUI for router login attempts. I used to pull the power cable out to resolve that issue, now I find if I pull out the ADSL link for 30 seconds its will recover. I will need to click on Connect to log
If I was buying a router this would not be my first or even my last choice as along with the never fixed DNS issues this router is a really poor device
Dan.
Firmware 10.2.2.B
sw4mpl0rd
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 24-03-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_

by reboot do you mean it loses power or that you have to power it off and back on again before it will reconnect?

Hi Adam, I don't have to restart it, it does it on its own. Happened again 3 hrs 25 mins ago. It's very irritating!
Will try a factory reset later on and let you know how it goes. Ta
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

Please do let us know if this continues to be a problem after a Factory Reset.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
nils1992
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n FTTC frequently rebooting...

Same happening to me with Technicolor TG582n already did a factory reset no changes. I'm still in the "training" period as I got my broadband a few days ago hope the router crash doesn't affect my speed. I could also try to set up my Airport extreme and take that thing out.
I'm sure it's not the line dropping because I can reach certain things in my network but not the Technicolor web interface.
My wireless is already supplied via my AirportExtreme.
Are there any logs to check on that?
Thanks