cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Hi,
Have a network with a Windows Server 2008 R2 is the Domain Controller with the Technicolor TG582n being the internet gateway.
I have suddenly had an issue where the client network PC's cannot get network connections properly.
Have traced it to IPv6.
The ipconfig of client Windows 7 PC's show an IPv6 DNS address which matches up with the Technicolor TG582n.
I have my server not giving out IPv6 DNS via DHCP but the router is obviously doing so.
It suddenly happened a couple of days ago.
How do I turn it off.
I have turned off the router being a DNS provider so why is it now giving IPv6 DNS/DHCP?
Thanks
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Have a look here http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/is/_pppoa_/dt/?be=0&l0=2&l1=2&name=Internet (login required).
Do a text copy and paste of it here in a post but delete/leave out your username & IP addresses.
IIRC I disabled my IPv6 via the 582n's CL:I. I'll have a look at my notes.
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Is this what you are looking for?

Internet 

Connection Information
   

Link Status: IPv4 connected

IPv6 disconnected

Uptime: 30 days, 7:39:32

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 8.91 / 51.78


Connection Settings
   

PVC Info (VPI.VCI): -

Type: PPPoA


PPP Settings
   

Username: *****@plusdsl.net

Password: ******************

Connection Mode: Always-On


TCP/IPv4 Settings
   

IPv4 State: Enabled

IPv4 Address: 80.***.90.***/32

IPv4 Default Gateway: 195.166.128.191

Primary DNS: 212.159.6.9

Secondary DNS: 212.159.6.10


TCP/IPv6 Settings
   

IPv6 State: Disabled

Stateless Address Autoconfiguration: Disabled

IPv6 Address: -

IPv6 Default Gateway: -

Local Interface ID: -

Remote Interface ID: -

DNS Server 1: -


Also, here is Home Network settings:


Interface - LocalNetwork 

Interface Information
   

Interface Group: lan


TCP/IPv4 Configuration
   

IPv4 State: Enabled

Auto-IP Enabled: Disabled

Use DHCPv4 Server: Disabled


TCP/IPv6 Configuration
   

IPv6 State: Enabled

Advertising prefix: --

Stateless Address Autoconfiguration: Disabled

Use Stateless DHCPv6 Server: Disabled


IP Addresses

IPv4 Address/Mask
Type

10.0.0.138/24 Static

192.168.10.1/24 Static

192.168.10.9 Content
Sharing

IPv6 Address/Prefix-Length
Type


fe80::9e97:26ff:fe7a:6c0/64 Dynamic

DHCP Pools

DHCPv4 Pool Name
Address Range
Gateway

LAN_private 192.168.1.64 - 192.168.1.253 192.168.1.254

Stateless DHCPv6 Pool Name

LAN6_pool   


So basically, as far as I can see, I have turned off IPv6 DHCP?
Router suddenly started giving IPv6 addresses to clients DHCP thus stopping Group Policy being applied from the Windows 2008 R2 server.
The server has DHCP Ipv4 scope but no scope setup for IPv6.
Just tried to re-enable IPv6 on a client PC interface and it still boots to no Group Policy. If I disable the enable the LAN interface, it then works?
Why, how, when??  Undecided
How do I stop IPv6 from the router?
Thanks again.


 

 
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Do you have the DHCP server enabled in the Windows Server ?
IF so then don't you need to disable the routers DHCP server.
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Yes, DHCP role enabled withIPv4 scope on the server.
Only DNS is the server itself.
DHCP is disabled as far as I can tell on the router which it needs to be otherwise it will conflict with the server DHCP.
Have run a few CLI commands to query the DHCP of the router and it says no DHCP. Can't remember the exact command but found a Thomson pdf with commands.
Why then is it giving out IPv6 addresses to clients?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Try disconnecting and reconnecting until you are not on a bng gateway.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Ok, thanks.
Have just checked and I am on: gateway ptn-ag02
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Have you got the right manual for your firmware version and which have you got?
Now my page above is identical except -
On the Home Network Interfaces
TCP/IPv6 Configuration
IPv6 State:    Enabled
Advertising prefix: --
Stateless Address Autoconfiguration: Disabled
Use Stateless DHCPv6 Server: Disabled
whereas I have
IPv6 State: Disabled

IPv6 Address/Prefix-Length    Type
fe80::9e97:26ff:fe7a:6c0/64 Dynamic
whereas I have
No IP address configured on this interface.
When I looked in my notes, I couldn't find any CLI for the above settings, so some changes may have been made in the GUI, BUT the only other differences are the LAN IP address ranges which has reminded me of something, so I'm going to look again.
I also found an old post of mine where I said "IPv6 disabled WAN side is the default"
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Ok, I have restarted router a few times. Same configuration.
Still showing Home Network as:
TCP/IPv6 Configuration
IPv6 State: Enabled
and an IPv6 address.
Must be able to turn that off somewhere?
Cheers
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

The router firmware is: Software Release: 10.2.5.2
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Try doing what Jelv did here - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,121285.0.html
But rather than enabled, change it to disabled:
Quote
ppp ifconfig ipv6 disabled intf Internet
Highlighted
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Thanks for finding that AndyH.
Have tried it but says 'Interface filter(s) not matched.'
Looked again and IPv6 is showing as disabled in the: Internet Services > Internet TCP/IPv6 Settings IPv6 State: Disabled
It's in the Home Network > Interfaces > LocalNetwork  that I need to turn IPv6 off I think as that's where is says: TCP/IPv6 Configuration IPv6 State: Enabled
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Try the following telnet commands to disable IPv6.

Quote
dhcp serverv6 config state=disabled
ip ifconfig intf=LocalNetwork ipv6=disabled
saveall

Alternatively use backup and restore. Save a backup of the routers config file and edit it with notepad making the following changes marked in red. Then use restore to save the modified config file.
Quote
[ dhcsv6.ini ]
debug traceconfig state=disabled
pool add name=LAN6_pool
pool config name=LAN6_pool state=disabled intf=LocalNetwork localdns=enabled
[ ip.ini ]
ifadd intf=LocalNetwork dest=bridge
ifadd intf=Multicast dest=ethport4
ifconfig intf=loop mtu=4096 linksensing=disabled group=local symmetric=enabled curhoplimit=64 dadtransmits=0 retranstimer=1000 acceptra=disabled autoconf=disabled
ifconfig intf=Internet mtu=1500 linksensing=enabled group=wan acceptredir=disabled rpfilter=disabled curhoplimit=64 dadtransmits=1 retranstimer=1000 acceptra=enabled autoconf=disabled
ifconfig intf=LocalNetwork mtu=1500 linksensing=disabled group=lan acceptredir=disabled rpfilter=enabled ipv4=enabled primary=enabled ipv6=disabled curhoplimit=64 dadtransmits=1 retranstimer=1000 basereachabletime=30000 gctimer=600000 acceptra=disabled autoconf=disabled
Update
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎16-08-2014

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

Thanks npr, that's done it!  Smiley
Where did you find the CLI commands?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n DNS IPv6

npr is the font of all knowledge for the TG582: http://npr.me.uk/
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)