cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor Gateway TG582N

SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Apologies in advance if this is posted elsewhere.....
After getting a Static IP address from Plusnet, I really am struggling to get my IP cameras online.
I accessed the IP camera GUI and set a static IP address....changed the Port to say 81(from 80). The IP cameras are Trendnet Outdoor PoE type. The IP camera rebooted...
Then on the PN Technicolor Gateway router this is where my problems started...when I configured to allow the IP camera to be taken on board as Port 81 the error message kept coming up that this port is already taken. I checked and this is not the case...
After going backwards and forward many times (had to reset the IP camera as I was unable to access the GUI after changing the port) and seeing many posts on Telnet/ADSL expert etc...even no joy via Plusnet as they said they had no clue...I thought...time for a break and ask some experts...
So...pls could someone help/guide me with my dilemma? I even thought about changing the router but let's wait to see if any kind soul can offer advice...
Appreciate any offers...
Thx
SG101
12 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 821
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 21
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

I think you need to let the TG582n assign LAN IP address to your camera using DHCP.  If you try to set up a static IP directly on your camera as you have done, you will run into problems due to limitations of the TG582n.
The alternative is to get a different router, which is what we did as one device we had couldn't use DHCP.

Silly question, but is there a reason for wanting to change the port number to 81 on your camera ?
Normally when you set up the port forwarding on the router, you can keep your port 80 on LAN side, and choose/use a different port number(s) as seen from the WAN (internet side) which you would use to remotely access your camera(s) when off premises.
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Hi there
Thanks for taking the time back to reply...I did change the IP camera to a static (or fixed IP). What I can do is change this back to DHCP...the manufacturer of the IP Camera (Trendnet) gave this instruction via their you tube video. They also suggest the port change to 81 etc.

I was thinking of changing the router but as always it's the cost and what to do with the old (or not so old) one..... for example, the Draytek Vigor is around £120..
I will give it a go with what you have suggested....again...many thanks
SG101
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Quote from: SG101
when I configured to allow the IP camera to be taken on board as Port 81 the error message kept coming up that this port is already taken. I checked and this is not the case...

Are you aware that if you change the cameras port to something other than port 80 you need to specify the new port in the browsers address.
ie:
If you normally access the camera on port 80 by entering the following in the browser address bar.
http://192.168.1.20
After changing the camera to port 81 you need to use.
http://192.168.1.20:81
Same if accessing from the internet
You would use http://wan-IP:81
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Dear npr...this was very helpful as I was not aware of this...thank you...you saved me from having to reset etc...especially as accessing the IP Cameras is now a right pain in the a**e.
Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Glad it helped.
Is the camera now working as you want, or do you still have a problem accessing it from the internet?
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

hi there...still have problems..but it's more to do with me not putting enough time into it...manic at present with a big house refurb project. My plan of attack is as follows:
- Now have a static IP address from provider...I will forward all inbound to port 80
- Will change the ports on IP cameras to 80 (as originally) on LAN side.. The LAN IP for IP Cameras will be static...
- Use "WAP-Static IP:80/ LAN IP"  to connect to Camera's 1-by-1
I think the above should work...fingers crossed...
The big problem is with the Plusnet Router (Techniclor Gateway TG582N...I think)...when I tried to set a port for the IP Cam before it kept saying port being used. Looking at various forums, the suggestion is now to have all inbound port forward to 80 and then to fixed IP address....
Hope this makes sense as somewhat new to all this...
Thanks for your help thus far....
SG101
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

So there's more than one camera.
Are they each connected straight to the router or are they connected to a network recorder (DVR)?
From what you said earlier I assume they are IP cameras connected straight to the router, if so, for them to work from the internet they each need to have a unique port number. You then port forward each cameras port to the cameras unique LAN IP address.
Alternatively you could leave all the cameras on port 80 and use port translation, but you may find this more difficult.
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Hi...yep, I have 2 cameras each with a fixed IP address and both are connected to a PoE device which is in turn linked to the router via one of the standard non-PoE ports.. I did try with each of them having a unique port number. Then I tried to do port forward on the router to each specific camera. Every time I tried to set up the router to allow port 81 for IP Camera X...it kept saying port conflict and port already in use...this was confusing and I tried many port configurations...Port translation sounds interesting but if I resolve the port forward on this router that would be great.
I found this write up which I was going to try....hence the suggested plan of attack detailed previously:
http://help.telecom.co.nz/app/answers/detail/a_id/20324/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xNDA1NDI2ODIzL3NpZC9x...
Specific for the TG582N router
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Technicolor/TG582n_Technicolor/TRENDNet_TV-IP...
Specific for Trendnet View Pro IP Cameras
May I also take this moment to thank you for your continued responses...very helpful...
SG101
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

I assume the PoE device is just a switch which adds power over ethernet. This is not something I've ever played with, don't think it will affect the following but I'm not 100% sure.
1) I would strongly advice placing both cameras on a dynamic (DHCP) IP address. -- Port forward with these routers can become unreliable with devices on static IP addresses.
In the routers network settings for the camera select "always use the same IP address".
2) place the two cameras on different ports (eg 81 and 82)
Create two port forward rules:
One allowing port 81 and a second allowing port 82.
Assign the port 81 rule to the IP address of the port 81 camera.
Assign the port 82 rule to the IP address of the port 82 camera.
To access the cameras from the internet use the following in the browsers address bar.
http://your_wan_ip:81 ; and http://your_wan_ip:82
Alternatively using port translation.
I would experiment with the above first before trying with port translation, this should work but it's been a while since I've used anything like this.
2)Leave both cameras on port 80.
Create the following two port forward rules.
One rule allowing port 8081 translating to port 80.
The second rule allowing port 8082 translating to port 80.
Assign on rule to the IP address of one camera.
Assign the other rule to the IP address of the other camera.
To access the cameras from the internet use the following in the browsers address bar.
http://your_wan_ip:8081 ; and http://your_wan_ip:8082
This will give you a rough idea how to create a port forward rule for port translation.
http://npr.me.uk/pf/
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Again...many thanks...I will experiment with this tomorrow and drop you a line back...fingers crossed..
SG101
SG101
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 09-07-2014

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Hello npr
Firstly....a great big thanks...it seems to be working. I did as you said and all went well till I got the same port conflict . But then I thought it seems to have assigned a port...so I did the WANTongueort and it picked up both the cameras....had to login etc..
I must say that without your guiding hand this would have been a pain...
Thanks again...
SG101
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Technicolor Gateway TG582N

Well done, glad you've got it working.  Cheesy