cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 353
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2013

TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

I received the TG582n from PN and was disappointed this version did not have a usb port, from other posts on this forum I understand the versions with usb are only sent out to those customers on fibre Sad .
Anyway I was looking through the router gui and discovered something strange when looking at my home network. In my setup eth1 is connected to a powerline adaptor which then supplies my main pc in my bedroom and a media center pc in the lounge.So usually there's 2 pc's and 3 powerline adaptors showing, only there is now a new item labelled Unknown-02-1f-9f-4d-b7-a3 which connects via upnp to MediaServer. Clicking on MediaServer reveals the following :
urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:MediaServer:1
Information

Status: LeaseActive
SpecVersion: 1.0
DeviceType: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:MediaServer:1
URLBase: http://192.168.1.253:41952
FriendlyName: Technicolor TG582n
Manufacturer: Technicolor
ManufacturerURL: http://www.technicolor.com
ModelDescription:
ModelName: Technicolor TG
ModelNumber: 582n
ModelURL: http://www.technicolor.com
SerialNumber: CP1302VFTFL
UDN: uuid:d830bcd5-1405-5a1b-bc08-70ba83726ee4
UPC:
PresentationURL:
I know from using the BT home hubs that the router address 192.168.1.253 is usually assigned to the usb port but this version of the router does not have one.
Open to ideas on this one Smiley
Firmware is 8.4.4.J if that helps
Ta Gerwyn
6 REPLIES
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: 25-06-2009

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

Hi Gerwyn,
You are correct. The Media Server software on the router is still running even though there's no USB port. An oversight when we built the product.
This will be fixed in a future firmware update - here if you're interested: http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/
Thanks,
Matt
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 353
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2013

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

Thanks for the info Matt, is the new firmware ready for use now.... Plusnet - ADSL - TG582n-PS (without USB port) - 10.2.2.B ... I notice it is no longer labelled demo
Ecurb
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

Hi -
I think the info' I need is elsewhere but I can't find it !!
I have a (Fibre) TG582n with usb and would like to use it instead of my regular one with an external hard drive as a media server etc.
I don't have fibre just standard broadband.
I read a little while ago on one of the forums here that the Fibre version's firmware could be "downgraded/flashed" to allow this.
Sadly I didn't save the page which also had links to the firmware "downgrade".
Can anyone advise/help.
Thanks
Bruce
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,408
Thanks: 999
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/ is probably what you want
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: 25-06-2009

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

Quote from: gtowen
Thanks for the info Matt, is the new firmware ready for use now.... Plusnet - ADSL - TG582n-PS (without USB port) - 10.2.2.B ... I notice it is no longer labelled demo

That's correct, no more demo, fully approved.
Ecurb
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: TG582n without usb but with mediaserver ?

Thanks Oldjim, if you are replying to me. 
Is it the 8.4.4.J version I need to downgrade to ADSL from the FTTC  8.C.M.O version?
I don't want to get it wrong and ruin the modem/router (if that's possible??).