Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582n with USB query

TORPC
Grafter

TG582n with USB query

Hi all
I am new to PN and so far seems superior to my previous ISP and also saving over £17 a month for the same package
Does PN still supply the above router ?Huh
If so
Is it available for purchase ?, If so, how much ?Huh
How up to date is the TG582n USB router ?Huh

Can the USB be used for networked storage device(s) IE: 3 x Partitioned External HDD, ?Huh
Is the firmware as good or better than the TG582n without the USB option ?Huh
10 REPLIES 10
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

Re: TG582n with USB query

The version of the router supplied for ADSL users does not have a USB port.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

From a reply on this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,120104.msg1046829.html#msg1046829 it would seem that Fibre ones now don't have a USB port either!

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

npr
Pro
Fixes: 9

1)Is it available for purchase ?, If so, how much ?Huh
Don't know if you can get one from plusnet but there's plenty available on ebay.
Don't get a O2 branded one though, they are locked and can not be used on plusnet.
2) How up to date is the TG582n USB router ?Huh
Don't know how to answer that.
3) Can the USB be used for networked storage device(s) IE: 3 x Partitioned External HDD, ?Huh
Yes but the transfer speed is not great, around 2.5 MBps in my tests.
Some high capacity drives need more current than the TG582 can supply,  a powered hub or self powered disk may be the answer.
4) Is the firmware as good or better than the TG582n without the USB option ?Huh
It's the same.
TORPC