cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

silentmonkey
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-09-2007

TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Hi
OpenReach have finally upgraded my line to FTTC and I now have a shiny new TG582N from PlusNet and a 40mb FTTC connection.  Cheesy
Since I have an SBS2011 server supplying IP's via its DHCP service I disabled the DHCP server on the TG582N. However, all the event logs on my client PC's are now showing DHCP NAK's coming from the IP of the Router whenever they request or renew an IP address. So despite being disabled the router is still responding, albeit with an error, to DHCP requests on the network from both wireless and wired clients. The clients do get an IP from the server and the network is functional it's just the annoying errors in the event logs.
The firmware on the router is 8.C.M.0. is this the latest?
Is there anything else I need to do to disable DHCP on the router other than removing the tick from the DHCP box on the configuration screen of the interface?
Is this a known problem?
Is there an updated firmware available.
Thanks in advance
Mark
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,821
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 35
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Hi there,
AFAIK there's only been one firmware release for FTTC for the TG582n, I'll check regarding your issue with our products team before getting back to you.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
silentmonkey
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-09-2007

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Thanks Adam
I've attached a snip of the event log entries.
Mark
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,136
Thanks: 546
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Wondering if removing that DHCP tick tells the DHCP server not to hand out IPs but doesn't actually disable the server?
If you telnet into the router and run the command
dhcp server config
does it say State: enabled?
If so you could try running
dhcp server config state=disabled
saveall
to see if that stops it issuing NAKs.
For information
dhcp server debug stats
will list the server operational state and response counts.
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

The event log you've posted shows "denied by the DHCP sever 192.168.7.1"
That's not the routers DHCP server IP address unless you've changed it.
silentmonkey
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-09-2007

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Quote from: npr
The event log you've posted shows "denied by the DHCP sever 192.168.7.1"
That's not the routers DHCP server IP address unless you've changed it.

Hi npr
I should have mentioned that the router is configured on the 192.168.7.0 network as 192.168.7.1 while the SBS server is on 192.168.7.2 so it is the Router that is NACKing the requests.  Thanks for the suggestion though.
Quote from: spraxyt
Wondering if removing that DHCP tick tells the DHCP server not to hand out IPs but doesn't actually disable the server?
If you telnet into the router and run the command
dhcp server config
does it say State: enabled?
If so you could try running
dhcp server config state=disabled
saveall
to see if that stops it issuing NAKs.
For information
dhcp server debug stats
will list the server operational state and response counts.

Hi spraxyt
You've hit the nail on the head. Didn't think to telnet into the box. Looks like its far more configurable through that interface.
DHCP Server config showed it as enabled! Set it to disabled and no more errors.
Thanks for the advice much appreciated.
Mark
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,136
Thanks: 546
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: TG582N issuing DHCP NAK dispite DHCP being disabled

Glad to hear that's solved the problem. Smiley
The telnet interface does provide more scope for router configuration, and for getting it wrong - for which the reset button can come in handy. Grin
One command sometimes of use is
syslog msgbuf show hist=enabled
which lists all entries in the system log buffer, rather than the abbreviated version shown by the GUI.
David