cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582N Firmware

uktotty
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 29-03-2013

TG582N Firmware

I need to flash my firmware on my TG582N, Plusnet support have suggested Techniclour's website, they no longer supper end users and have told me to contact my ISP.
My ISP of course have their own version of firmware and I need the factory standard one.
I need to change my IP from 192.168.1.254 to something else but Plusnet have locked this down.
So does anyone know where I can find the firmware and how to flash please?
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: TG582N Firmware

Quote from: uktotty

I need to change my IP from 192.168.1.254 to something else but Plusnet have locked this down.

Are you talking about the plusnet firmware?
If so it's not locked to 192.168.1.254, to check I've just changed mine to 192.168.1.2.
To change it in the routers GUI, go here:
http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/intfs/_intf_/cfg/?be=0&l0=4&l1=1&name=LocalNetwork
Use "Edit" to change 192.168.1.254 to any valid address.
uktotty
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 29-03-2013

Re: TG582N Firmware

Interesting!
I tried to change mine to 192.168.2.254 but it woudln't work.
Called plusnet tech and they told me it wasn't possible due to their  firmware.
My office LAN is in 192.168.1.x and I need a different IP address range.
I haven't tried too change it to 192.168.1.2 as I need to move away from that range,
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: TG582N Firmware

uktotty
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 29-03-2013

Re: TG582N Firmware

You sir are a genius!
Thanks very much, kudos!
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: TG582N Firmware

Quote from: uktotty
I tried to change mine......
Called plusnet tech and they told me it wasn't possible due to their  firmware.

Well as you've discovered, that is complete rubbish. There is plenty more information on this forum about the 582n firmware and changing settings etc. Just do a search. If you are stuck, just post.
Edit: Oh, I recommend you go off-line first before making changes, drop your PPP session, then power down. Stay off-line until you've finished, so any reset's reboots etc don't give the exchange DLM the idea you have a dropping connection. When you go back on-line, click Connect to start a new PPP session.