cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582N FIrmware Request

ljwhitehouse
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-03-2013

TG582N FIrmware Request

Hi everyone, currently on 8.4.4.J can someone please provide me with the firmware update or push out the latest one to me? Smiley.
Also, is there anyway to setup the router to use opendns address's and stop requesting the plusnet dns address's? Most likely through telnet?
Kind regards.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

Quote from: ljwhitehouse

Also, is there anyway to setup the router to use opendns address's and stop requesting the plusnet dns address's? Most likely through telnet?
Kind regards.

See http://npr.me.uk/changedns.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,432
Thanks: 1,012
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

Hi ljwhitehouse,
Did you manage to upgrade?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

There recently seemed to be a body of opinion that the current firmware was better in some respects for 21CN. So perhaps the real question to the OP is - are you having any problems with the current firmware and apart from wanting to change your DNS?
Are you on 20CN or 21CN?
If you are using Windows, the other option you have is to set DNS in Windows, but if you have several devices and children you want to stop getting to certain sites, then changing things in the modem/router is probably the best option.
Edit: You also have the "Parental Control" Option in the Toolbox if you want to block specific IP addresses.
ljwhitehouse
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-03-2013

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

Flashed the latest firmware, made a few tweaks here and there and all my problems are sorted Smiley. Thanks for the links and advice guys...
Now that I'm using opendns, i'm attempting to use dnsomatic to update a hostname I have which I used to use through the router (No-IP) redirectme.net for remotely accessing my computer.
Failing but still working at it!
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

Not honestly something I know a lot about, but Good Luck! Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

There's details of how to use dnsomatic with this router on the site in my above link.
ljwhitehouse
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-03-2013

Re: TG582N FIrmware Request

npr, i'd been following your guide... some of the command don't seem to play nice but I got it to work finally with the all.dnsomatic.com hostname Smiley. Great work and excellent contribution to the web!
I started to play with the ip6in4 tunnel but I think the opendns name servers aren't compatible possibly?