cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582 on 20CN

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

TG582 on 20CN

I've been using a Netgear DG834v1 ever since I got broadband. When ADSL Max came to my exchange in Sussex (Mar 2006) I got a rock solid 8192 sync with interleaving off - it never missed a beat.
In January we moved to Dorset. Again I got a 8192 sync with interleaving off and it never missed a beat.
Last week I swapped to a Plusnet supplied TG582. I've been seeing in it's log brief drops in sync (around every couple of hours) although there has been no loss of PPPoA and Plusnet are seeing no drops.
This morning I happened to look at my TBB Ping Graph and found this:

No prizes for guessing what has happened! I don't do gaming so I'm going to let it run and monitor if I see any ill effects. I'll also watch to see if I still get the sync drops.
Conclusion has to be that the TG582 not only is inferior for it's wireless performance, but is also inferior for it's ability to hold a good connection on an ADSL1 20CN line.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
29 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Just checked the router log and I'm still getting sync drops.
Incidently, if you view the log via telnet it goes a lot further back than you can see via the standard interface.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

I must say that I've noticed the occasional drop in sync since I changed from a 2700HGV to the TG582n, but that's on a 21CN line.
The 2700 would hold sync for months whereas the TG seems to drop most weeks.
Didn't know about the log being longer from the CLI , will have a look at that tonight.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

I've just pulled an extract from the router log for the last few days:
<173> Dec 12 13:47:21 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 15:31:11 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 17:10:54 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 19:05:15 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 19:51:32 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 21:43:53 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 12 23:29:33 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 01:13:14 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 03:07:56 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 04:51:46 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 06:37:49 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 08:28:50 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 10:32:54 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 12:11:24 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 14:09:46 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 15:46:51 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 18:59:56 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 20:51:02 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 13 22:46:25 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 00:36:16 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 02:40:10 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 03:28:57 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 05:08:57 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 07:08:28 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 08:54:23 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 10:33:04 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 12:36:59 xDSL linestate down
<173> Dec 14 15:06:42 xDSL linestate down

At no stage have I seen the noise margin below 8.
Has anyone any ideas what might be the cause of this other than the router being useless?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Just had a phone call from James - we have a plan to try to get to the bottom of what's going on.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

That's a lot of resync's. It's mostly every 2 hours or so...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Yep, really strange. Some of them have been when we've been out of the house all computers off, central heating off, lights off.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

What's the plan?
I'll contribute something to this when I can, but I've only done some brief on-line testing with the 582n (not enough to draw any conclusions) and won't be doing any more until I've managed to reconfigure it to suit my current network - the latter I've not really had the time to do with too many fingers in too many pies and various domestic commitments  Roll eyes
Are you still syncing at 8128? and I guess you have a fixed IP address?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

One interesting thing is that I am still syncing at 8192 - with interleaving on!
I'm not seeing any drop in the PPPoA session (and Plusnet are not seeing the drops) so I wouldn't see a new IP even if I wasn't on a fixed IP.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

My god you are doing well to sync at 8192  If that's what the 582n says it's definitely broken!
What was your TBB ping plot like with your Netgear?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

I don't understand how you're not losing the ppp session , you would have expected the router to tear down the ppp connection automatically as soon as the DSL drops.
Sounds like the router is behaving rather oddly. Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Does RouterStats (Lite) show this apparent sync loss?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Quote from: Anotherone
What was your TBB ping plot like with your Netgear?

Here's the day before I changed over - it's pretty typical.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Quote from: MisterW
I don't understand how you're not losing the ppp session , you would have expected the router to tear down the ppp connection automatically as soon as the DSL drops.

We have seen occasional other reports of people losing their connection which was not being seen by Plusnet and that has usually been put down to loss of a wireless connection. There is a very simple way to see if your connection is seeing the same symptoms: on the router interface got to the main Broadband Connection and look at the uptime of the DSL connection and the Internet connection. If the Internet connection is longer you have the same symptoms. Up until a recent reboot I was showing an internet connection of over a day but a DSL connection of only an hour or so.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: TG582 on 20CN

Quote from: Anotherone
Does RouterStats (Lite) show this apparent sync loss?

Not sure why you think I'm running RouterStats Lite - the full blown RouterStats supports the TG582!
As the sync is down for around 15 seconds it depends upon whether RouterStats polls the router when it is down. I have it set to refresh every 30 seconds so quite frequently it does see it.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)