cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG 582n - Is it ok for Fibre?

mikeshe
Grafter

TG 582n - Is it ok for Fibre?

I ordered fibre which is due to be supplied tomorrow. I understood, according to PN that the above router was ok for fibre broadband but now I'm not so sure? This one hasn't got a red slot or a usb slot.
16 REPLIES 16
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 159

Re: TG 582n - Is it ok for Fibre?

The fibre version is ok for fibre, otherwise it would not be supplied.
It uses one of the LAN ports to connect to the BT modem.  A USB port is not required for fibre
Hth

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

mikeshe
Grafter

Obviously, but I understand that PN use the same model number (TG 582n) for the fibre and adsl versions.
Not realising this before as I'm not an expert I checked the model of the router I had, which is the TG 582n, read about it being used on these forums and therefore didn't ask for a different version with the same model number. It would make sense to have a different model number such as TG 582nf (f for fibre) for us non anoraks. So now it looks like I have an engineer coming tomorrow on a wasted visit.
dick:quote
ghos7em1
Grafter

just dont use latest firmware ive found a few bugs,port forward goes to wrong ip dmz dont work or works for 1 day web pages dont display or they disappear
Townman
Superuser
Superuser

Quote from: mikeshe
Obviously, but I understand that PN use the same model number (TG 582n) for the fibre and adsl versions.

As ever context is important.   Cheesy  This is a repeated question, usually asked in the context of the supplied fibre router.  Note also there is a USB variant of this router with the same model number - model number designation is a manufacture choice, not PlusNet's.