cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TD-W8968 Router problem after losing broadband

vtr1000
Dabbler

TD-W8968 Router problem after losing broadband

Hi all, i joined so i could have a moan Angry  i have been using the TP link router for a few weeks with no problems, after losing broadband last night i can't get it to work wireless on my laptop, it will work with no security but i don't want to do that, i did reset the router and used the setup guides, doing something wrong, any help would be appreciated, the router is TD-W8968, thanks.
24 REPLIES 24
Anotherone
Champion
Fixes: 21

Re: Router problem after losing broadband

Hi, welcome to the forum and sorry to hear you've got an ongoing problem. Was that a full factory reset you did?
I'm no expert on that modem/router but there are a few around who are. I suggested edit the title (by editing your first post) to include TD-W8968 in the title.
vtr1000
Dabbler

Re: TD-W8968 Router problem after losing broadband

Thanks, i'm no expert on any router Grin i did do a factory reset on the rear of the router, i think the problem is an Authentication Fault.
Anotherone
Champion

You may need to log into your laptop wireless settings and see what channel it's on, it could be the TD-W8968 has defaulted to a different channel.
Either change channel in the TD-W8968 or the laptop, which ever gives you the best signal.
vtr1000
Dabbler

The router is set on auto, will check my laptop, i should point out that i can't connect to my phone either, it says authentication problem, so not just my laptop.
Anotherone
Champion

The TD-W8968 will have chosen what it saw as the best channel after you reset it. That may not be the same channel as previously and that your devices are on.
You may even have to delete the device wireless settings and set them up again.
vtr1000
Dabbler

I have to admit i can get a bit confused with all that,  Embarrassed i probably set it up wrong after the reset.
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro