cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync speed

sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Sync speed

Is it normal for the sync speed to stay exactly the same over the 10 day training period?
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sync speed

yes and tends to indicate no problems with the connection
what are the stats from your router - noise margin, speeds and attenuation (this explains how to get them http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html )
sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: Sync speed

I haven't experienced any disconnections so that's a good sign. SN Margin is looking higher than it was yesterday (was around 4 dB).
Uptime: 1 day, 18:01:42
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,159 / 11,263
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 351.95 / 4.34
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.9 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.4 / 37.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 6.8
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 14,566 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 46 / 46,639
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 42 / 25,881
sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: Sync speed

Sync speed has gone up to 11,559 after a resync. I presume sync speed not changing at all is OK? I have a lot of CRC errors and error seconds but I don't know how many is too many!
Latest stats as of 9 March:
Uptime: 1 day, 3:56:33
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,115 / 11,559
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 2.50 / 6.42
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.5 / 37.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.2 / 4.3
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 7,380 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 55,948
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 29,151
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Sync speed

As you've got a stable line you shouldn't need to worry about your connection.
You're getting good speeds when looking at the length of your line. Let us know if you do start to have any issues though.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: Sync speed

Thanks Chris, the line does seem very stable. I did notice that my PN profile is extremely high and I'm estimated to get more than what I am. I've raised a ticket about this but had no reply yet. Could you update the PN profile?
Estimated line speed:
18Mb (This may vary between 9Mb and 21.5Mb) - Checked on 2014-03-07 23:40:28
Current line speed:
21 Mb
Thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Sync speed

Hi,
That's been updated for you and I've responded to your open tickets on your account.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: Sync speed

Thanks Chris. Can I also get interleaving turned off as my connection is stable?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Sync speed

Hi sthlm,
I've submitted the request to turn interleaving off. This should take effect in the next 24 hours.
sthlm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: Sync speed

Thanks Linn but it's still interleaved?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Sync speed

Your Interleaving is off. I've just checked it on your line.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer