cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Hi, I've registered so I can ask for a bit of advice from you.
My router always syncs at 288 / 1152 after every reboot. Is stable and works fine but that seems very slow for only being 800metres from the exchange - and my next door neighbour manages test speed results of 3mb. I swapped the plusnet thomson v585 for a Netgear DG834 and that did exactly the same sync 288 /1152. This is from my master socket, no other phones or lines attached. These are the results today. Is there anything obvious I have missed here do you think ? Thanks for any advice. Simon
Just rebooted the router and ran the tests:-
PLUSNET
High-speed Broadband
Telephone number:
XXXXXXXXXXX
Phone exchange:
SUTTON
Estimated line speed:
2.0 Mbps - Checked on 2009-04-16 11:31:46
Current line speed:
7150
Your estimated line speed
If we've done a line check for you, we provide an estimate of the broadband speed that your line should support.
Please see above for the 'Estimate line speed'.
If we're unable to provide a line check, we give you the option of continuing without a speed estimate, in which case you'd see the Speed Estimate as "Opted out".
What does "Current line speed" mean?
The speed shown above is based on your sync speed. This is always a little higher than the speed at which data will actually be downloaded over your broadband connection.
____________
ROUTER
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:20:39
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 1,152
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.0 / 8.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 11.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 27.0 / 30.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
______
BT SPEEDTESTER
The speed test has completed on test server speedtester1.nat.bt.com for user XXXXXXX and you have downloaded a 1.7Mb file at a speed of
936 kilo bits per second (Kbps), your service bandwidth will have been quoted to you in kilo bits per second.
Your IP address is XXXXXXXX, your browser is reported as being Mozilla 5.0 and is running on Macintosh Intel Mac OS X 10_5_6.
BT would regard the speed ranges shown below as normal service:
For 250kbps End Users speeds between 50 - 250kbps.
For 500kbps End Users speeds between 100 - 500kbps.
For 1000kbps End Users speeds between 200 - 1000kbps.
For 2000kbps End Users speeds between 400 - 2000kbps.
adie:red removed personal information as it's an open forum]
14 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,007
Thanks: 1,449
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Welcome to the forums Smiley
It doesn't look like you are on ADSL max but a fixed 1MB, see here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats.htm
Either raise a ticket to ask to be moved on to max or maybe some kind comms person will pick it up Smiley

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

I think adiewoo is right, that's not ADSL Max but the fixed 1Meg product. I'll get an order placed first thing in the morning to move you to Max, and that should complete on Monday.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Thats great thank you, it should have been max to start with. I did raise a ticket but its been unanswered for 24 hours. Simon
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Good morning,
I've now placed an order to move you to MaxDSL and it's due to complete on Monday.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

WOW hows that for service. 9.00am first thing and a text notification as well. Thats unusual these days. Very much appreciated. Simon
SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Sorry but been turning my router off and on since monday evening to test and still only 288 / 1152 sync. Still fixed on 1Mb by the looks of it. And also since monday http://speedtester.bt.com/ stopped working and still does not work says this:
Unexpected result received when querying the network to find your services connection details. Please try again shortly, but if this problem persists raise the issue with your service provider.
Router:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:09
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 1,152
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.0 / 10.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 11.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 27.0 / 30.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Speed Tests:-
Today 20:06 985 kbps (123kB/s) 230 kbps (28.8kB/s) Share
May 2, 12:40 1080 kbps (135kB/s) 208 kbps (26kB/s) Share
Apr 27, 22:42 1042 kbps (130kB/s) 239 kbps (29.9kB/s) Share
Anymore ideas ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Obviously it hasn't happened - a rep should pick it up tomorrow
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

BT has to midnight to complete the order, so could still be supplied today.  Roll eyes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,007
Thanks: 1,449
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

It should have completed yesterday  Roll eyes

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

I'll wait and see what tomorrow brings. I was told, by PlusNet, at nine this morning "Thank you for getting back to us. I have checked at this side at the connection rate is showing at 2Mbps when testing here"
SimonF
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-05-2009

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Status of this is that I now have another 10 day wait before I can complain again. "As mentioned by my colleague, we need to allow for the 10 day initial period to complete before we are able to raise the matter with our suppliers due to the learning period."
Annoying thing is it should have been ADSL max when I was activated on 27th April and they took my intial money twice. Then refunded me 50p short when I reported it(which to be fair they did then also refund after I told them).
Have BT wholesale ever got customers 'mixed up' at the exchange - as everytime PlusNet have told me what speed they think I am syncing at - its not near 1152 ?
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

If you post your current router stats and if your upstream speed is 288 and your downstream is still 1152 then some investigation is needed from PN.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

Hi Simon,
I'll take a look now as I placed the order for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Sync always 288/1152 seems strange for ADSL Max

The order completed correctly and your account is set to Max from our side. I'll pass the ticket on to the faults team to take a look at.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff