Suspected line faults and BTOR charges

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Suspected line faults and BTOR charges

@Care team
Two questions...
1. Why is there a difference for BT OR visit and they finding no fault between a residential line user and a business line user?  £50+VAT vs. £144+VAT.  The BTOR engineer has exactly the same task to perform so why the cost difference?  Is this a matter of BT thinking businesses have money to throw around?  As a small business owner, I can assure you that this is not universally the case.  Do business users get preferntial response times?
2. How does one 'protect' one self from BTOR attending during the day and not finding a fault (thereby wanting to stiff the business consumer a hefty £144+), when one's experience is that the BB service is acceptable (even if 3.5M) during the day / dry weather but is markedly poor (unusable) at night or when its been raining for days?
My PN supplied Thompson router reports high levels of FEC & HEC errors whilst the support man in PN says there are none.
Now found a means of fitting an alternative filter beteen my ADSL face-plate and the master socket.  What a faf! Stats taken circa 14:45 after router restart after insertion of new filter - it is bright and dry today and teh service is quite fast, but the error rate seems high.
Uptime: 0 days, 0:41:25  
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A  
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 864 / 6,680  
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 864 / 6,272  
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.51 / 6.96  
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5  
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.0 / 44.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.5 / 4.0  
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN  
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 303 / 0  
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0  
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0  
Loss of Link (Remote): 0  
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 131,072 / 0  
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 774 / 539,880  
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 13 / 9,164