cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suspect broadband is banded

pwetherhill
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-02-2017

Suspect broadband is banded

Ive had a proper nightmare after a house move. When i arranged the move three weeks ago, i was promised up to 41mbps through ADSL. A week ago i got an email saying that my local exchange 'didnt have enough sockets until the 31 Mar 2017" and as such i would recieve a lower speed broadband. 

 

Well. 

 

 

After another week i finally got connected. Router is reporting 1.1mbps, BT broadband checker is reporting less. 

 

Phone line is new, im in the test socket and connected directly by Ethernet cable with nobody else connected via WIFI. Can anyone at plusnet check my connection status on the system? This speed is slower than my phone on one bar of 3G and nowhere near what i was promised. Shoddy at best.

 

Username is the same as my forum one. 

6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,754
Thanks: 1,116
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

ADSL has a maximum speed of around 20Mbs down.

Fibre (VDSL) has higher speeds depending on which product you selected.

Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
pwetherhill
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-02-2017

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

Oops, wrote 41 instead of 21. 

 

Banding:

 

WBC 576k - 1M 576kbps to 1152kbps

 

Coincidentally im getting:

 

Downstream: 1.125 Mbps
Upstream: 288 Kbps

 

To quote Plusnet on their welcome email:

 

4Mbps to 8Mbps

pwetherhill
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-02-2017

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

Well, guess what?

 

Finally got through to a guy at plusnet today and he confirmed.. i was banded at 1mbps. 

 

So he removes the band and reckons within 2 hours itll be normal. 

 

guess what?

 

no change 8 hours later.

 

sigh

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 335
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

It's not a straightforward case of banding imposed by the DLM. You've been incorrectly provisioned on a fixed rate 1Mb service. The clue is the 288k upstream.

Just keep contacting Plusnet until you get through to someone who knows what they're doing.

pwetherhill
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 03-02-2017

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

The guy I was part of online chat with just said it was restricted to 1mbps. He did however say it had been lifted, and then when I asked what I was limited to now he said no limit was applied. I suppose time will tell, if no joy I'll end up back to online chat again I suppose.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,372
Thanks: 629
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Suspect broadband is banded

I think ejs is correct.

I'm 99% certain you have been provisioned on the fixed speed 1Mbps product. It needs someone to place an order on the BT systems to re-provision you on the correct product - this will be at least an overnight order I think. There is no point in waiting to see if it improves - it won't until the order is placed.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)