cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

Is anyone else stuck on this constant low speed?
I pay for Extra & up to 20Mbps. Obviously I don't expect to get 20 in a rural area, but 0.8 to 1.0 ? Come on, surely I have a right to expect better than this.
Noisemargin is 11/16.4
attenuation is 21 up and 36 down.
Can anyone comment on why my speed is so low all the time?
Thanks Smiley
118 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

First something is badly wrong going by your attenuation figures
Can you post the information requested here and we may be able help http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

OldJim I'd really appreciate some expert advice, thank you for the swift response. I'm computer literate but not when it coes to these technical details.
Below are the details of my DSL Connection from the link given as I have no idea what I am looking at!
I don't want to moan as Plusnet have been really good, I've been with them 2yrs, and they have been helpful when needed, but I am just disappointed that I am always struggling for a decent speed.
It's ok till I want to download a large game file or watch a stream, then there is just no hope Smiley
I should add, I tested this from the main socket with no other equipment attached, as per the guidance. I did get a reading of 1.8 a couple of days ago, but only for a short time, then it was back at less than 1 again.
Any help you can give would be appreciated.

Link Information
   

Uptime: 1 day, 15:31:22

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 960 / 2.016

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 30,08 / 152,98

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,4 / 19,3

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,0 / 36,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,0 / 16,5

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 61 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 7 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 62.680 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 2.010 / 44.496.346

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1.212 / 170.371

HEC Errors (Up/Down): -.212 / 170.371 / 219.969


Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

Could you run the BT speed test and give the current line speed as requested in the post Jim linked please.
Your noise margin is very high which is restricting your sync speed. Could you reboot your router ONCE during daylight hours and report the stats you've given again.
How many phone sockets do you have, is the router in the main socket and if there are others what is plugged in to them?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

Hi jelv,
the speedtest shows the following:
Download 0.94
Upload 0.73
Ping latency 35.13
After a reset
Download 0.94
Upload 0.77
Ping latency 41.21
and also after reset:
 

Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:20

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 960 / 2.496

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 12,37 / 15,63

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,6 / 19,8

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,0 / 36,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,0 / 15,9

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 18 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 2 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 69 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 25.775

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 194

HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 194 / 391
I have 5 sockets:
the main one in my front window, & three further downstairs sockets; then a fifth in an upstairs bedroom.
I only use two of the sockets, one for my router which also has a phone plugged into the filter; and one for the sky tv.
None of the other sockets are used.
I tested from the router's usual socket without the phone attached.
I will do the same from the main socket and report those figures also.
Thanks
Keith
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

Is the main socket a proper master socket with a removable lower section.
If so you will need to check using the test socket behind it
The video in my original link explains why
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

Quote from: kmw350
I only use two of the sockets, one for my router which also has a phone plugged into the filter; and one for the sky tv.

Are you using an ADSL filter in the socket for the Sky TV?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

JIM, JELV,
I don't know whether to laugh or cry. For two years I have put up with less than 1M.
Following your advice, the main socket is giving me.......
over 5 !!!
I cannot believe it.
First, I feel like a right idiot.
Second, I cannot thank you enough.
Third, I presume I will have to take a serious look at my internal phone lines now to get the same figure at my pc in the back room.
That will be a pain, but a least I can see that it will be worth it Smiley
I must say, I am not normally the sort of person to skip over reading guides, and honestly, I had read through it but I had missed the video and in particular the point of testing from the absolute(internal) main socket, so my previous tests from the main socket were only from the outside of the box.
I have some work to do now, thank you so much for your help, is there anything really obvious that you would look at first, before I look at the whole route of my wires?
EDIT: jelv, only just saw your quesiton re sky, no there is no filter on the sky socket. Is it too much to hope that it will be enough to solve this?
Thank you again,
Keith
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

That will likely be the cause of all your grief.
To confirm the internal wiring is OK unplug the Sky and check what the stats are like using the front of the main socket.
Edit: See the Plusnet help page: http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/microfilters-how-and-why.shtml#howMany
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

unfortunately, it was not that simple. I plugged in a new microfilter in the sky socket (also tried a second new one), and tested from the outside of the socket, and I am back at 0.94 again Sad
So I need to check the connections in the sockets and determine what is draining my signal.
I will get to work on it.
Thank you again, at least I know there is a very good speed reaching the house!
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

All of the extensions should be connected to the removable part of the master socket (it would be good to check that when the front plate is removed all the other sockets are dead).
You can get a replacement for the removable part of the master socket with a built in filter, the extensions are then connected to the filtered side. This might be an option for you: http://www.adslnation.com/products/xte2005.php. You don't then need any filters elsewhere in the house.
You can get similar units from other places.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

jelv,
thank you I will look at fitting a new master socket.
BUT, I knew it was too good to be true. I went back to the test socket to make sure it was still at 5, and it is now showing 0.94, just like the rest of the house. I have not touched the master socket, other than to remove the lower cover.
I even started doubting the fact that I ever saw the 5.7 in the first place, (though I know I did!).  Angry
Does it suddenly drop at the exchange for some reason? What the %$£" is going on?
I was going to try and be methodical, and was happy that the problem was inside the house, but it's going to be impossible if the main socket is going to vary that much, there is obviously a similar problem outside as well.
Is it even worth trying if this is the case? Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

You need to check not only the sync speed but the noise margin.
Have you installed RouterStats?
I'd suggest putting in to the test socket and running it like that for a couple of days to check if it's stable and watch the noise margin graph.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

ok thanks,
currently the SN Margin shows (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,0 / 16,3
Could you tell me what i should be reading? Is this good or bad?
I'm afraid I am not too good on understanding most of this information.
For instance, when I plug into the test socket and check the Gateway stats my bandwidth is shown as 960/6.464.
As soon as I plug it in on the outside of the socket I have a drop to 960/3.8.
If I check the BT test result, the speed shows as 0.94 downloading.
So is this pointing to a faulty main socket maybe?
I will try routerstats if I can get it running thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Surely I should get more than 0.93 broadband speed?

I am a bit confused
In your post
Quote
BUT, I knew it was too good to be true. I went back to the test socket to make sure it was still at 5, and it is now showing 0.94, just like the rest of the house. I have not touched the master socket, other than to remove the lower cover.
I even started doubting the fact that I ever saw the 5.7 in the first place, (though I know I did!).
were you referring to a speed test or router stats. If a speed test then it would still be rotten until the Plusnet profile increases
If as you say in your last post the stats are consistently much higher in the test socket then you have an internal wiring problem