cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck at 9,727

apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Stuck at 9,727

My line has been much more stable the last week, with the only resets being manual ones from changing router etc.
However no matter which router I use and despite S/N fluctuating in both directions, it  always sync at exactly 9,727Kbps (9,728 on the Belkin but I suspect that's rounding up).
What's going on?
20 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Stuck at 9,727

It looks like your connection has been dropping a little which could have triggered DLM to lower the line rate. Were any of these drops noted here yourself rebooting the router?
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13530796041096.png" />
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Stuck at 9,727

From his post some of those will be him swapping the router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Let us know if it was apjashley1 and I'll submit an SNR reset for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Hi Adam,
Thanks, I think all of those resets were me either swapping the router or unplugging the phone!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Hi there,
I've placed a SNR reset for you as your line has been stable over the weekend. This usually takes around 4 hours to complete.
Let me know how you get on.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

The problems have started up again. I was stable for a few days but now it's been disconnecting quite a bit and my speeds have dropped.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Have you rebooted at all? You've had very few disconnections;
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image1353684095110.png"/><div style="clear:both;"></div>
Have you tried connecting into your <a href="http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml#whatsTest">test socket</a> as something is causing noise on your line.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

There have been no reboots at all.
My flat doesn't have a test socket - it's a new build and Openreach just used the sockets that the builders put in. Nothing's connected except the router and a phone handset in the same micro filter.
Yes there are some crackles on the line! Can you hear them too?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Have you tried an alternative micro-filter?
If you have then we'll investigate the phone fault further.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Yes... I'll put a new one in now too. (Back to 9,727- not a happy Alex right now)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Stuck at 9,727

If you can hear "crackles on the line" then you should confirm that by connecting a corded phone directly to the test socket or in your case the master socket. Are there other phone sockets in the flat or just the one?
If need be, use the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2 to listen to the line. A phone fault needs to be reported to your phone provider without mentioning the broadband (otherwise you get the run around) and do so whilst the line is crackling.
Who do you pay line rental to?
Your Broadband speed has been banded by the exchange DLM because of your line problem and until the line is fixed you will continue with problems.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

There are 3 sockets in the flat, all wired up before anyone had moved in (and before Openreach had laid cables in our street).
There is always a slight weirdness to the note on a quiet line test, and a sort of "hiss" noise like the old 56K modems used to make when connected - but much much quieter.
Plusnet provide my phone service - I'm just worried they'll send Openreach round and I'll get charged £60 because builders can't lay down good phone cables!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Stuck at 9,727

A very very slight barely perceptible steady hiss is fine. If you are using a cordless phone, or have a mobile phone near your modem/router it could cause noise changes. Ideally use a corded phone for such tests, turning off a cordless base station and all handsets., move any mobiles well away (or switch them off).
I presume that which ever modem/router you are using, you know how to login to it (as you've quoted sync speed) so I'd suggest that you login and find your PPPoA Internet session Connect/Disconnect button. Click Disconnect, then wait a few moments before powering it down. Do this before investigating or fiddling with any wiring, or swapping modem/routers or filters etc., the purpose being to prevent the Exchange DLM thinking that what you do is a dropping connection with the consequential effects that you are currently seeing and/or raising of the Target SNRM. Take at least 10 minutes and when you've completed whatever you are doing, reconnect and power up, login and Click Connect for your PPPoA Internet session if needed.
OK, have a look at the rear of each of the sockets and see how many and what colour wires are connected to which terminals on each. Also see which one has the 'Ring' or bell capacitor. See http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btsockets.htm for guidance and try and identify which LJU sockets you have. Hopefully you will see wiring such as Blue+white trace on terminal 2 & White+bluetrace on terminal 5. You should also see an Orange pair and possibly a Green pair, some of which may be connected. Hopefully you won't be seeing any other colour wires! Also say which of the sockets you are plugged into.
Post back the full information about the wiring and the sockets, also post the full ADSL stats taken immediately after you power up the modem/router. Also I take it you aren't using any plug-in extension leads, if you are where exactly, between which items?
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Stuck at 9,727

Anotherone - thanks, all of the sockets are non-standard and have never been taken off the wall (as it seems to start ripping the paint when I try to get to the back of them!). Next time the router is down I will get photos of the back of each.
Any Plusnet staff that can help - I've got 9 days of uptime but still not moving anywhere higher that 9,727!  Embarrassed